Fresh Southern Peach Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
This is a good peach cobbler - just the right spices and sweetness. You should note however the amount of baking powder - this is a very "cake-like" cobbler. Also, the amount of cinammon-sugar on the top makes it very hard to tell when it is "golden brown". "very thin" slices of peach also lead to a less chunky peachy cobbler than I really like, so you may want to make your slices reasonably substantial if you want good sized chunks of peach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3484 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2003
This is the best cobbler I have tasted! Family went nuts over it. Easy, too! I will make this again, for sure. I would include details on peeling the peaches for newbies. Place the peaches in boiling water for about 60 seconds, remove and plunge into cold water. The skins should slip right off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2694 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
This recipe is delicious. I have two suggestions to improve it though. First, I used fresh peaches from my boss's peach tree - some of them were quite under-ripe - and the recipe still came out very sweet. I will definitely make this again, but I will use a bit less sugar in the fruit and in the topping. Second, while the topping is super tasty (if a bit sweet), there's not enough of it! It doesn't need to be doubled but maybe 50% more topping would be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2074 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DannyBoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Coming from the Peach State, I'm really picky about peach cobbler. This recipe is fantastic! I made it with fresh peaches that were about to spoil in a day or two, so I ended up using all I had. This meant that I almost doubled the suggested amount of fruit, and even though I did not double the other ingredients, the recipe came out very well and I had none left over. So be generous with the fruit if you can!! Serve warm, with vanilla ice cream. Also, consider using other fresh fruits if peaches are not yet in season. I've made this with mangoes, blueberries, blackberries, and strawberries, and each time the results have been fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
810 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This is a very good recipe, but having been born and reared in the south, I remember all my mother's (and grandmother's) cobblers having a crust on top (not just spoonfuls dropped over it, but a full top crust.) Researching this in my mother's old recipe files, I found something interesting. This recipe is almost identical to hers, but steps 3 and 4 would be changed as follows: Combine 1 and one-half cups each of flour, sugar and milk. Pour this over the peach mixture. Sprinkle with sugar, with or without the cinnamon, and then dot with butter. Bake approx. 30 minutes. I tried this recipe both ways, and my mother's way is an improvement. It is also easier, by the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
436 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
This is absolutely one of my favorite recipes that I've tried so far. The ingredient proportions are right on the mark, and the procedure is so easy. I tried boiling the peaches to peel them, as suggested, but that didn't quite work out. Instead, I just peeled them with a knife, which worked out just fine and wasn't a hassle at all. When choosing peaches, be sure that they do not have any green on the skin -- this means the fruit hadn't developed before being picked, and it won't get any sweeter afterwards. The crust is unbelievable. When you pour in the boiling hot water, it immediately puffs up into a thick dough. This bakes into a thick, crumb-cake-like topping. The sugar amounts can be adjusted as desired. I found it to be just right. It is incredible with a scoop of vanilla or butter pecan ice cream (or both). My "southern" gentleman companion, who has had his share of peach cobblers, really enjoyed it! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
421 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
Made this fabulous dessert with my diabetic husband in mind for a church gathering. I used regular Splenda & Splenda Brown Sugar in place of the sugars, and served with sugar free ice cream. My husband couldn't get enough, and the non-diabetics loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
392 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
First, if you use salted butter cut back on the amount of salt that the recipe calls for by half otherwise the recipe will be really salty. Second, instead of baking it for thirty minutes cut that time in half otherwise it will be over done. Third, instead of 6 tablespoons of butter add 8 tablespoons. Other than that the recipe was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
289 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2003
As a southern girl, I've had many variations of peach cobbler. This one definitely tops them all. I too cut my peaches into thicker wedges, 4 tbsp cornstarch and 8 tbsp butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
280 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
This is peach cobbler perfection! Delicious, old-fashioned taste. The brown sugar makes it so yummy and the crust has the perfect texture. I used 6 peaches and had ample filling. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
261 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,760) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Peach Cobbler

Turn fresh peaches into sweet, outrageously delicious cobbler.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States