Fresh Semolina and Egg Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I didn't change a thing! This is by far the best recipe for fresh pasta. Just be sure your ingredients are exact measures then it will be perfect every time. Thanks so much for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Flour can very in protein content- and that affects how water and HOW much water absorbs... which could be why some had problems with flour being too much or too little. The more protein the more it absorbs water...so if it's too dry you may have had some high protein flours. You adjust with a little bit of water until you get it to the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
I made it two nights ago - it turned out nice and golden and eggy. We made spaghetti, and it cooked in about three minutes. Strands held together like store bought, but the pasta feels and tastes much better in the mouth. I froze some, and tonight took some from the freezer and dropped it directly into boiling salted water. Delicious. For those who had trouble with the consistency of the dough, I highly recommend weighing the ingredients rather than going by volume. It's the best way I've found to get consistent results. Oh, and I can't say enough good things about using a stand mixer to knead the dough, then rolling it out with a hand-operated machine. Results are very consistently of a high quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Alright: so i discovered half a bag of semolina in my fridge early today and decided to make fresh ravioli for dinner. I found this recipe, and after realizing how big it was, i decided to halve it. Now, I'm not afraid of a little kneading, so i didn't bother breaking out the kitchenaid for this. I used Large eggs, and am going to have to agree with the reviewer who said that there's too much flour in this recipe for the amount of liquid involved. My dough was TOUGH. After resting a bit, it was more pliable, but it was still far too tough, and i found myself wishing i could add some egg afterward, but it wouldn't have incorporated correctly. We all know that tough dough means tough pasta. So my end result was chewy. I also agree with the person who said the recipe could do with a little more than a "pinch" of salt, as well. That said. Its an OK recipe. Not great. But its OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Like several others I found that I needed to add an extra egg. This may be due to the fact that I use unbleached flour which I have noticed behaves a bit differently than bleached flour. We love the flavor and they are fun to make with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cerrid1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I was using Giada' s pasta recipe until tonight when I tried this one. This was way better! Had a nice dense texture. We like some bite to our posts. This will be the only recipe we use from now on. Made it exactly as the recipe says. Used my Kitchenaid. Came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I'm an Executive Sous Chef and I used this recipe the other day. I, like most of you used a large stand mixer to mix ingredients then kneaded it by hand. It is a very simple and easy recipe to use at home and in the Professional setting. I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Great recipe. Made it just as the instructions said, and as the dough came together was worried that there was too much flour. Kept kneading and eventually it was absorbed. After resting, quartered the dough and rolled out with a pin, turning dough regularly and dusting with fine semolina. Then cut into strips. This made enough for two dinners for two. I let the finished pasta sit on the counter for a few minutes, then put into containers like those in which I had seen fresh pasta sold, and refrigerated. If you want more egg, just add an egg, don't worry about buying jumbo eggs. Can't wait to serve this with a ragout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Tried this tonight. It came out fantastic! I live at altitude and the climate is quite dry so I added about 1 1/2 tablespoons of water. Can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Best pasta recipe ever! I made it for my family and they loved it!! Full of flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Semolina and Egg Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States