Fresh Semolina and Egg Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Doubled the recipe for ravioli for Thanksgiving. This recipe is excellent! My husband mixed and kneaded -- it took him considerable strength to knead until smooth. We added two additional eggs (ours were labeled "large" but they weren't at all), plus another tablespoon of olive oil and a bit of water. Beautiful dough once done. The final ravioli were amazing as well, filled with ricotta, eggs, sun dried tomato, fresh parsley, asiago, parmesan, and romano. Still have a lot of dough leftover, too -- we've frozen it and will use around Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Love this recipe! Pasta has never tasted so GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPMsMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I made this recipe for my homemade Bolognese sauce and it was AMAZING... so much, that when I presented it to the Judges on MasterChef 6, they LOVED it! A must try indeed....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang Marie Per

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This recipe produced a very easy to roll out pasta, it was a no fuss recipe pretty much anybody can execute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda May

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This recipe is flawless. I make it every week now that I have a kitchen aid mixer. Spaghetti, Fettucine, bowtie pasta, hand cut, lasagna... this recipe never fails.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madmax

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I didn't change a thing! This is by far the best recipe for fresh pasta. Just be sure your ingredients are exact measures then it will be perfect every time. Thanks so much for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Flour can very in protein content- and that affects how water and HOW much water absorbs... which could be why some had problems with flour being too much or too little. The more protein the more it absorbs water...so if it's too dry you may have had some high protein flours. You adjust with a little bit of water until you get it to the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
I made it two nights ago - it turned out nice and golden and eggy. We made spaghetti, and it cooked in about three minutes. Strands held together like store bought, but the pasta feels and tastes much better in the mouth. I froze some, and tonight took some from the freezer and dropped it directly into boiling salted water. Delicious. For those who had trouble with the consistency of the dough, I highly recommend weighing the ingredients rather than going by volume. It's the best way I've found to get consistent results. Oh, and I can't say enough good things about using a stand mixer to knead the dough, then rolling it out with a hand-operated machine. Results are very consistently of a high quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Alright: so i discovered half a bag of semolina in my fridge early today and decided to make fresh ravioli for dinner. I found this recipe, and after realizing how big it was, i decided to halve it. Now, I'm not afraid of a little kneading, so i didn't bother breaking out the kitchenaid for this. I used Large eggs, and am going to have to agree with the reviewer who said that there's too much flour in this recipe for the amount of liquid involved. My dough was TOUGH. After resting a bit, it was more pliable, but it was still far too tough, and i found myself wishing i could add some egg afterward, but it wouldn't have incorporated correctly. We all know that tough dough means tough pasta. So my end result was chewy. I also agree with the person who said the recipe could do with a little more than a "pinch" of salt, as well. That said. Its an OK recipe. Not great. But its OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Like several others I found that I needed to add an extra egg. This may be due to the fact that I use unbleached flour which I have noticed behaves a bit differently than bleached flour. We love the flavor and they are fun to make with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cerrid1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Semolina and Egg Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Homemade Fettuccine Pasta

Make homemade fettuccine with or without a pasta machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States