Fresh Salsa II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
I doubled the recipe since I had a bunch of tomatoes to get rid of. I thought it was fairly easy to make, but the taste was pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJHighby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
Finally; a totally fresh salsa which I've been looking for a long time. What a refreshing treat. I blended mine in a food processor though. I doubled the garlic; processed this first then added the chopped onions, and jalapenos, cilantro and lemon juice and pulsed to smooth. Lastely added the tomatoes; and just pulsed to consistency preferred. Tons of fresh flavour; a totally authentic mexican treat. Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
I used jalapenos and banana peppers instead of green pepper and a couple shakes of garlic salt for flavor. Great way to use tomatoes out of garden! Thanks for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Canisteo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
This is an excellent recipe! I added minced garlic, salt and pepper. I left out the jal and cilantro...still was GREAT!! My husband who doesn't like tomatoes, loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
Perfect combination of ingredients, I actually added a little tomato sauce and paste to give it more of a "soupy" consistency. Received a lot of compliments for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
Was a really good recipe. I substituted one of the green peppers for a red one and added a bit more lemon as well as some balsamic vinegar. Will definitely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
As the recipe is written, I give it 3 stars. With a few changes, I give it 5 stars (so I'll officially award it 4 stars)! First, I used three ripe Jersey tomatoes, by far the best out there. I used just one large green bell pepper, one medium sized sweet onion and one fresh jalepeno pepper. I added more lemon juice to taste, and lots of fresh cilantro. I also added kosher salt to taste. The original recipe had too much green pepper and subsequently not enough tomato. It needed salt desperately, as it was very bland. Also, it tastes much better the next day, it needs to marinate. My family is enjoying it, and I plan to keep making it as long as there are Jersey tomatoes out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mount Laurel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
okay, typical, no distinct flavor, but edible, would not make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
My husband really loved this recipe. The only thing I changed was to add salt and more garlic. Otherwise, very good recipe and good way to use the overabundance of tomatoes from our garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
Very dissapointed...lacked the flavor I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States