Fresh Salsa I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
It needed something more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centreville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This salsa is excellent - a little on the hot side (lesson learned) but pretty darn close to salsa I've had in restaurants. I cut this down to 12 servings and used (2) 14.5 oz. cans of diced tomatoes, one with green chile peppers and one without. I love roasting the jalepeno pepper (next time I'll use only half of one that's what made it a little too hot). I added some fresh lime juice, cilantro, and doubled the amount of cumin. I love the fact that you can make this as chunky as you like - much better than the jarred stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Pretty good. I love hot and boy was this hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Yummy!!! My hubby has wanted me to make salsa for a long time & I was always hesitant, thought it was too much work. This recipe is rather simple & quick. I used 1/2 jalapenos instead & it was still warm. I omitted the canned tomatoes & used 4 vine ripened tomatoes. I added 1 bunch chopped cilantro & juice from 1 lime. So good, I've made 2 big bathes in 3 days already! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Chikolou~

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
This recipe was amazing! Very spicy but very good! My husband said it was the best salsa he's ever had. We used the food processor. The blender made it too liquidy last time we made it. We added the juice of half a lime and a handful of cilantro as others suggested. It was great. We will be making it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I would give this 3 and a half stars if I could. Talk about spicy! Maybe my jalapenos were crazy hot, but I had to add an additional can of tomatoes to tone down the heat. I also feel like something is missing. Maybe cilantro, lime juice, green pepper... some other element of flavor. It wasn't a total waste though, we just doubled up on the tortilla chips. I do like the fact that I knew exactly what was going into my salsa, meaning there were no preservatives or other funny things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This salsa is great and easy to make!! All of our friends love it and request it every time we get together. My mother-in-law, who is Mexican, and very critical of other's cooking even loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Z.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Our favorite salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali_B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Klein, Texas, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2008
fantastic salsa! I have also thrown a habenero into this to kick the heat up even more...my wife loves this...will make on a weekly basis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
This was a great recipe! I did make a few modifications. I took the suggestions of other reviewers and added a large handful of chopped fresh celentro and the juice of half a lime. To fit my families tastes I only used 2 jalapenos, 3 cloves of garlic and half the sugar. Also, I did not put this in the blender. I hand chopped all of the ingredients for a chunky, less watery salsa. Next time I will probably used diced tomatoes instead of the whole ones. None the less, this turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States