Fresh Salsa I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I followed some of the reviews and used 3 jalapenos instead of 4 because I didn't want it to be too spicy. I regret that. Next time I make it I will use what the recipe calls for, 4. Also, next time I'll use less sugar than is called for. I found it to be a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kilyena
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This is a wonderful Salsa recipe. Better than mine which uses fresh tomatoes. I did add the juice of a lime and some fresh cilantro to taste. I cut back to 2 teaspoons of sugar. Next time I might use 2-3 jalapeno's instead of 4 for a slightly less spicy taste. Thanks Kaylene!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Very good stuff... I added lime juice, Chopped green onion, & Cilantro. 4 peppers is pretty hot... But I like it hot... Roasting the peppers is a must do... Great flavor. Thank's Kaylene!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Corrigan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schiller Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Loved this salsa! I used 3 jalapeno peppers and 1 anaheim pepper. Only used 4 cloves of garlic, and 3/4 of a large onion. The rest is exactly like the recipe. Next time, I'll try roasting the garlic with the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
We love this recipe! The only changes I made was to use 3/4 can of crushed tomatoes instead of peeled whole tomatoes and added a drained can of tomatoes with onion and garlic. Will definitley make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Great "as is" recipe! I love spicy food so I added several habaneros and it was even better! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This was a really nice, spicy salsa. I tend to like my salsa pretty chunky so next time, I think I'll chop some of the veggies myself and mix into it the tomatoes after they're pulsed. Otherwise, excellent salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I will never buy jarred salsa again! I literally make this ever other week! SO tasty...and you can add more or less spices to fit your preferance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shoppingbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This had an unusual blend of flavors. I didn't really like the sweetness that much. With all the canned tomoatoes, it also wasn't really "Fresh" as described in the title. I think it would have been better with less sugar, less jalapenos, some cilantro, and fresh tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Excellent! I used jarred jalepenos for lack of time, and they worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tegan Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States