Fresh Salsa I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This was fantastic.. our Chilean singer said to throw a can of chicken broth in the blender and blend it finely..not chunky.. and Oh My he was right..\m/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frsheezy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I have never made homemade salsa in my life. After reviewing numerous recipes on this site, I decided to give it a try. I did not follow any one recipe. I instead made my own recipe based on reviewing the many different styles on this site. I used 1 30oz can of whole skinned tomatoes, 2 10oz cans of rotell (sic) diced tomatoes and green Chilli peppers, 1 small jalapeño pepper withsseed pod removed, 1 small red pepper with seed pod removed, 1 small yellow onion, 1 small purple onion, 3 full gloves of garlic, 3 small limes, 2 cups of cilantro, 2 tablespoons of salt, and 1 teaspoon of sugar. I chopped the onions, peppers and the garlic. Mixed in bowl all the ingredients after draining the tomatoes. I then spoon feed the salsa in a chopper until it reached a smooth consistency. My wife loves it and I may have to make it all the time. Made about 1 gallon of salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Great! And super easy. The second time I made it, I left out the 28oz can of tomatoes and sugar and added fresh cilantro and it was even better. It tasted fresher and was less watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Awesome. I do add cilantro
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
It's been a few years since posting this recipe. I lived in a "produce challenged" area at the time... the reason for using canned tomatoes. Yes, drain them. I agree 5 peppers can be too hot. Glad many find this a great base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Excellent! We used less jalepenos and garlic from the recommendation of other reviews. We added a green pepper to make up for the loss of the jalepenos. Amazing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I ALWAYS add at least 1/2 bunch of fresh cilantro or it just isn't homemade salsa!! When I want it chunkier, I use a large can of petite diced tomatoes instead of the whole and only add 1/3 of the can to the blender. Then I add the remainder of the can after blending all the other ingredients. I don't think there is any need bake the jalapenos. And 4 could definitely be a little much depending on your taste and how hot the peppers are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I made this for my boyfriend and he loooved it! He said it reminded him of a mix between salsa and pico de gallo! This receipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginacav

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Made this and it turned out perfect! I did use only 3 peppers instead of 4, so it wouldn't be so spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whats for dinner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
It is a 5 star, but I gave it a 4 because you can make this a lot easier. One can of tomatoes with green chiles, chopped onion, cilantro and squeeze of lime and you are done. It is chunkier and easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States