Fresh Salsa I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
This was good. I roasted all four jalapenos with the intention of adding one at a time until it was to my liking. I ended up only adding two - seeds removed. I don't like my salsa too hot (I like to pile it on) and this was perfect. After pouring into a bowl, I added a large handful of chopped cilantro and the juice of half of a lime, which really helped with the freshness factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
This salsa is Fantastic!!!! It is great. Best Homemade Salsa I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
This is the best salsa recipe. I made the following changes for my family. Reduced jalapenos to 2, used 1/2 the liquid from the whole peeled tomatoes, added the juice from 1 lime, added 2 tablespoons pureed chipolte peppers in adobo sauce, added 1 cup chopped fresh cilantro. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
This recipe is great, we added some lime juice and zest, cilantro, and chopped mango. This really added a lot of extra flavor and is perfect on chips. People are always requesting that we make it for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Always a winner. I like it CHUNKIER - How I mix it makes a big difference. After I roast the jalapenos I seed them & put them in the blender with the whole tomatoes DRAINED (usually San Marzano), sugar, garlic, cumin and salt. When this appears blended I add a coarsly chopped sweet onion and blend slightly. Then I add two cans of DRAINED tomatoes with green chile peppers and stir by hand. Chill for a few hours before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buddhaful Aud

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
very very very good! i added a green pepper and a handful of mushrooms i had left over and needed to use up. this salsa tastes great and has just the right spice but it's just a little too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kewaskum, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
This is by far the best recipe ever for Salsa. My friends from Mexico love it. I do add a bit of Chipotle Peppers for a smokey taste, but even when I do not have them, it's still the best recipe. So easy and goes quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
this is one awesome salsa! easy to make too, what's not to like?! :) the only thing that i did different was to not add as much garlic, 2 or 3 was enough. a nice suggestion would be to add a hint of lime juice and maybe some fresh, chopped cilantro. this is definitely one of the best salsas i have ever tasted. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This was excellent.. I added a few more jalapenos, but I like it spicy... easy and scrumptous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
This is very good! I reduced the recipe to make about half the servings of the original recipe. I omitted the canned whole tomatos and used only 2 cans of mild canned tomatos and green chilis, drained. (I can't imagine using the hot rotel AND adding jalapenos!) I added 3 roasted jalapenos with seeds, 1 small onion, 1 large garlic clove, a big handful of cilantro, juice from 1 lime, sugar, salt and just a pinch of cumin and gave it a couple of whirls in the blender and refridgerated overnight. Yum! The salsa was still very hot, which I like, but you may want to use only one or 2 jalapenos. This is my salsa recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States