Fresh Salsa I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
The definition of "fresh" is not cooked. Canned tomatoes work so well in salsa. They are picked at the peak of ripeness. DUH Grocery store tomatoes have no taste. To cut the heat take out the seeds and veins. The jalapeno's I have been getting are very mild. I also would add lime and culantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FISHGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encampment, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Well I have been to quite few Mexican restaurants. I have always been looking for the recipe chip dip that was just like this. I can't believe it, Thank you. I did add a few things from my garden like 4 Fresh Jalapenos, and 8 - 10 Culantro leaves (just like Cilantro). I also had to buy a small can of diced tomatoes with jalapenos inside they looked to good to pass up and a large regular can of diced tomatoes,plus the juice from 2 key limes. everything in the blender after the roasting, and bam all done. Thank you. Oh it was a bit too spicy hot for the wife so she diluted it with regular diced tomatoes and enjoyed it with Tostitos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This may very well be a tasty salsa but DUH...it isn't a FRESH salsa if it contains Canned tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Great, spicy salsa. The only change I made was to use a can of diced tomatoes and then to add in some green chiles separately. This was great with our tortilla chips as well as on our enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Decreased to one grilled jalapeno. Added juice from half of a lime and salsa seasoning packet. Came out a fav for the whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This recipe is AMAZING! I used serrano peppers instead of jalapenos, because I like their flavor and heat level better than jalapeno. I only used 2 cloves of garlic, because I didn't want it to be to garlicky. I increased salt to 1 1/2 tsp and decreased cumin to about 1/8 tsp. I do want to say though, that I'd be willing to bet the recipe was great as is, but I always like to tweak things to my taste, and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Somerset, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Overall, this salsa was pretty great. The best I've made from home. I did reduce the jalapeno to only 3. Next time, I will greatly reduce the sugar or leave it out alltogether. My husband and I both agreed it was way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I absolutely loved the flavor of this salsa! The only problem I ran in to was it was too hot to eat at first. I seeded two of the pepper but left two with seeds. I would not recommend doing that, and I am a lover of hot food. I was able to fix the problem by added more sugar (~ 3tbsp) and some vinegar. It didn't make the salsa sweet, but did help with the heat. Also this recipe makes a TON of salsa so be prepared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fowlerville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I hate to give this recipe 4 stars, but I come from California where we practically eat salsa for breakfast. I used 2 jalapeno peppers and it wasn't spicy enough for me. I added cilantro and a bit of lime, but it was still missing something. I will keep this recipe and use it as a base but maybe next time I will use habaneros?? Totally munching on this salsa right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This is one of the best recipes I have found. Quick easy and adaptable. I like a lot of the reviewers added cilantro and can take or leave the lime juice. I did add more jalepenos and enjoy it with the roasted peppers, but I boil mine to squeeze more heat out of them. Not as much smoky flavor but a lot more heat. Thanks Kaylene good job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States