Fresh Salsa I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
It is a 5 star, but I gave it a 4 because you can make this a lot easier. One can of tomatoes with green chiles, chopped onion, cilantro and squeeze of lime and you are done. It is chunkier and easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Excellent! I'd give 5 more stars if I could. I did make one or two changes; reduced garlic to 2 cloves, my onion was fairly small so used all, added juice of 1 lime because I had ONE lime in a use it or lose it mode and used only 2 jalapeno peppers which I seeded and deveined. I cannot tolerate cilantro under any circumstances and this is one of the very few recipes I've found for salsa not using it. TY for not even suggesting it! I pulsed tomatoes but left them in a nearly chunky state. This is really good, easy to prepare and even my grandkids, 8 to 16, loved it. Heat was just right for all of us. Can't go wrong with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Sounds very tasty! A few minor suggestions: 1) Reserve the cilantro until just before serving, then chop on your cutting board and stir in for a brighter flavour, and a less "muddy" appearance; 2) For a more mild flavour, seed the jalapenos before chopping; 3) DRAIN the tomatoes before adding to your mixing bowl, but reserve the juice in case it is too thick for your preferences; 4) wrap the garlic in foil, with a drizzle of good olive oil and roast along with the jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I used a whole 28 can of diced tomatoes and instead of the diced tomatoes with green chilies, I used one can diced mild green chilies instead. I also upped the cumin to a heaping teaspoon. This was my first time roasting peppers but it really was cake--I really worried over nothing. (For you novices, be cautious when working with the jalapeno peppers. Use nitrile (ex: non-latex) surgical gloves and don't touch anything near your face until the gloves are off and your hands are washed--I learned this the hard way the first time I ever cooked with jalapeno peppers.) Very spicy but that's how I like it. I think the only thing I was missing was a shot of lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This was a huge hit at our house. My husband loves salsa and said this is one of the best ones we have had yet. I will be trying to make one with not so much heat by seeding the jalapeños next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Photo by soupy
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I sliced the jalapeno lenthwise and took out the seeds before I roasted them. I though the salsa had too much garlic. To make up for the garlicy taste I added about 10 ounces of canned black beans. My husband thought it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Excellent! Add some cilantro for added flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TN Monkeymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Tastes like salsa from a good mexican restaurant! Made 3 batches of this in less than 1 week! I did cut the salt down to 1/2 tsp and added a little fresh lime juice. It is spicy, but not over the top. I will never buy store bought salsa again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
In whoever's recipe's defense, maybe I put too much garlic but I thought I put 5 cloves. THERE IS WAY TOO MUCH GARLIC. Also, I noticed D's Salsa recipe has more reviews and also includes lime and cilantro which I think might be missing from here. Will get salsa from Mexican restaurant in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This is a great recipe. If you don't like heat you will want to cut down on the jalapeno, but we like things hot. It becomes a little watery after being frozen but it still maintains a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States