Fresh Salsa I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Sounds very tasty! A few minor suggestions: 1) Reserve the cilantro until just before serving, then chop on your cutting board and stir in for a brighter flavour, and a less "muddy" appearance; 2) For a more mild flavour, seed the jalapenos before chopping; 3) DRAIN the tomatoes before adding to your mixing bowl, but reserve the juice in case it is too thick for your preferences; 4) wrap the garlic in foil, with a drizzle of good olive oil and roast along with the jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I used a whole 28 can of diced tomatoes and instead of the diced tomatoes with green chilies, I used one can diced mild green chilies instead. I also upped the cumin to a heaping teaspoon. This was my first time roasting peppers but it really was cake--I really worried over nothing. (For you novices, be cautious when working with the jalapeno peppers. Use nitrile (ex: non-latex) surgical gloves and don't touch anything near your face until the gloves are off and your hands are washed--I learned this the hard way the first time I ever cooked with jalapeno peppers.) Very spicy but that's how I like it. I think the only thing I was missing was a shot of lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This was a huge hit at our house. My husband loves salsa and said this is one of the best ones we have had yet. I will be trying to make one with not so much heat by seeding the jalapeños next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Photo by soupy
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I sliced the jalapeno lenthwise and took out the seeds before I roasted them. I though the salsa had too much garlic. To make up for the garlicy taste I added about 10 ounces of canned black beans. My husband thought it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Excellent! Add some cilantro for added flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TN Monkeymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Tastes like salsa from a good mexican restaurant! Made 3 batches of this in less than 1 week! I did cut the salt down to 1/2 tsp and added a little fresh lime juice. It is spicy, but not over the top. I will never buy store bought salsa again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
In whoever's recipe's defense, maybe I put too much garlic but I thought I put 5 cloves. THERE IS WAY TOO MUCH GARLIC. Also, I noticed D's Salsa recipe has more reviews and also includes lime and cilantro which I think might be missing from here. Will get salsa from Mexican restaurant in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This is a great recipe. If you don't like heat you will want to cut down on the jalapeno, but we like things hot. It becomes a little watery after being frozen but it still maintains a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I didn't care for this at all. It tasted more like tomato sauce than salsa. To add flavor, I had to add a can of diced green chilis, more garlic, more cumin and more salt. I really not like this at all. I think if I would have left out the 28 oz can of whole tomatoes, it probably would have been perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This salsa was so good and very easy to make. I just wish it had a little more heat (I like things hot). I took out the seeds to the jalapenos and next time I would leave at least 2 with seeds. It has a sweet and spicy flavor. I left out the cumin because I did not have any and I didn't miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States