Fresh Salsa I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
We love this recipe! We only use 1 jalapeno and substitute fresh tomatoes with added tomato sauce for richness, plus a little more sugar. Restaurant quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
This was a big hit @ Bunko. I did add lemon and little more cumin and cilantro. But for myself I added 8 jalapenos. Hotter the better. My husband loved it. It was really yummy.. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
I've been trying to re-create a salsa that is served in Mexican restaurants and this is even better!!! I also made guacamole and put a little of this salsa in it and it was wonderful!! The only thing that I would add to this recipe is chopped cilantro to give it that authentic taste. Thanks for the great recipe Kaylene!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Centereach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
My best friend and her husband make this often. They got me hooked! It's so easy to make and wonderful to have in the fridge. I don't think I'll even buy salsa any more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
Good and spicy and fairly easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2004
The roasted jalapenos give this salsa something extra special, though they add quite a bit of heat. I got rave reviews with this recipe, but next time I think I'll start with just 2 jalapenos and add to it if needs be. It's pretty dang spicy. I also added the juice of 1/2 a lime and a couple tablespoons of cilantro, a bit of fresh cracked pepper. Oh so yummy. You've got to try this one and make it your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2004
this salsa is a hit. Every where I take it I'm asked for the recipe. I even use the pickled jalapenos when I just want to throw this together fast and it has great taste. Also can vary the hotness by using different hotness of rotel. The best and easiest salsa I've ever made. Often told that it is better than the salsa you get in authentic mexican resturants! Note: At the end of the summer I pick all of my jalapenos that I have in the garden and char them in the oven, then just pop them in the freezer and they are ready for the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarion, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bridgewater, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
For using canned tomatoes, this is a very tasty salsa. I followed recipe very close, just added some cilantro for personal choice, and the salsa was all gone over the long weekend. Will keep this to use when I can't get decent fresh tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2004
I also added some cilantro and lime jucie. This is an excellent "hot" salsa, but I highly recommend using less jalapeno if you are faint of heart. I tossed this with some hot pasta and grated cheese and it was excellent; a nice "al fresco" sauce for these summer months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
This is awesome! I really like HOT salsa and I could only stand to use 3 of the peppers though! Also, next time I will drain the cans of tomatoes before adding them to the mixture, it was just a little too watery. I added the juice of one lime, some cilantro and I cut the garlic back to 2 cloves. This recipe is so good that I'm going to make a huge batch and can it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States