Fresh Salsa I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
I thought this was a good starter recipe but a bit bland. I added 1/2 cup chopped cilantro. I drained the tomatoes as one reviewer recommended. I didn't think the recipe had much flavor so next time I'll add an additional tsp of salt and probably substitute canned tomatoes for fresh roma tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
Made hundreds of versions and this was the biggest hit yet!! Stuck to recipe with the addition of a dash of fresh cilantro...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
This is the best salsa recipe that I have come across! I omitted the sugar and added some fresh lime juice & cilantro and it came out perfect. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
I thought that the heat on this recipe was great. Just the right amount of heat from the jalapenos, but the flavor of the whole dish was weak. It tasted far too tomatoey, and this may have been because I used the canned tomatoes the recipe called for. If using the canned tomatoes, I'd suggest draining them (which the recipe did not call for). Other than that, I added cilantro as well, but this still didn't give it enough flavor for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
it is so spicy! Everything tastes wrong. It is horrible! I will NEVER make this again! EWW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
This was good, but the garlic was way too much for us. If you don't love a lot of garlic, scale it back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
This is excellent. The best salsa I've ever had. I would recommend using 1/2 the jalepenos recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
Our family is VERY picky about mexican food, especially salsa. We LOVED this salsa and will continue to make. I added lime juice and cilantro and only used 3 jalepenos that I removed the seeds from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
I made this for a party, and it was a hit. I used diced fresh plum tomatoes instead of canned diced tomatoes and did not add any salt (we are on a low sodium diet). I also added a quarter cup of chopped cilantro. The result was a tasty and hot tortilla topper. My guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
When I made this I added cilantro, lime juice and cut the sugar a little. I also reserved the liquid from both cans of tomatoes, then added as needed. It worked perfectly!! I think the next time I may add one more jalapeno. We like it hot!!! Thanks so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States