Fresh Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
OK, I made this and my husband made me make it again the next day. It was that good. Here's the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars.. the time! I used the vidalia onion chopper to save time and it still took almost an hour to make. I'd love to get this flavor in a 15 min recipe. I only used 2 jalapeno peppers instead of the 3. Also, thought it was odd to have such fresh ingredients and then add the one can of tomato & chillies...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I followed this almost to a tee, right up until it was time to add the can of tomatos/chilis. I decided to omit to stay with a truly fresh salsa, and it was wonderful! The lemon/lime juice gave it a tangy flavor and the cumin added a nice zip. I chopped each of the veggies SEPARATELY in a food processor to obtain the desired consistency for each ingredient and added it all to a bowl. The end result was a very coarse salsa that did not have a whole lot of liquid and I was pleasantly surprised. This was my first time using/tasting jimaca and it added a nice crunch. I made this for the heck of it this afternoon, had several friends stop by unexpectedly and it was gone in a short time. I wasn't sure what to expect when I served, but they loved it and I will make this recipe again (minus the Rotel!) after my next jalopeno harvest from the garden! Give it a try!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Andover, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fuquay Varina, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This salsa is awesome. The fresh cilantro is to die for, and the jicama really does make the difference. I will make this over and over as it is easy and wonderful. THANKS for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wellsburg, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I made this via the original recipe and then made a few of my own changes. It was much better using just 1 jalapeno, no jicama, and using sweet onion instead of red onion. (It was still "warm" enough for my husband, but not too "hot" for me.) I have substituted regular tomatoes (de-seeded) for the romas and it turned out great as well. I usually just seed the jalapeno then throw everything in the food processor together instead of cutting everything up to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This is without a doubt the best salsa I've ever had. I've made it a half a dozen times just since Super Bowl 2 months ago - it just disappears! Easy to make & the jicama really adds a great flavor. Thank you for sharing this recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Very good, sweet & flavorful. I think I may leave some jalapeno seeds in next time to make it a little spicier. Added a can of black beans and kernel corn (both rinsed) and did not use jicama.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oneida, New York, USA
Living In: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This recipe was great! We followed directions as written, and we chopped all of our own ingredients, and it only took about 15 minutes to put together. The next day it is even better! Thanks so much for sharing this great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
I've made this 3 times and every time it turns out great! Thank you for this recipe--it's turned me off of store-bought salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I was looking for a recipe for fresh salsa and this one was as close to fresh as I could get. however, I didnt add the canned tomato so as to keep it fresher, just added more fresh tomatoes. I also didn't have the jimaca but this recipe was delicious without it. can't wait to try it next time with the jimaca! thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
very very good - definitely use roma tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States