Fresh Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Excellent salsa, very fresh and authentic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This salsa is awesome. The fresh cilantro is to die for, and the jicama really does make the difference. I will make this over and over as it is easy and wonderful. THANKS for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wellsburg, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
I've made this 3 times and every time it turns out great! Thank you for this recipe--it's turned me off of store-bought salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
OK, I made this and my husband made me make it again the next day. It was that good. Here's the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars.. the time! I used the vidalia onion chopper to save time and it still took almost an hour to make. I'd love to get this flavor in a 15 min recipe. I only used 2 jalapeno peppers instead of the 3. Also, thought it was odd to have such fresh ingredients and then add the one can of tomato & chillies...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
So yummy! I made this for a baby shower and it was a huge hit! Mine didn't look as soupy as the picture. More chunky looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Baltimore, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Orange, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I made this for a picnic and everyone devoured it. They said they couldn't go back to jarred salsa and requested for the recipe. If you have an food chopper or processor, it cuts the prep time tremendously. Also, scooping out the tomato seeds and adding the jicama makes the salsa not so watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Amherst, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
This salsa was OK but not my favorite. This is more of a garden salsa than a spicy, vinegar salsa. I did make some changes though, so that could be the reason I wasn't a big fan. I was lazy the day I made it so I just tossed everything in a food processor and blended. Obviously the salsa turned out more thin than chunky by doing it that way. The salsa itself really didn't have any pizazz for me but I had 2 avocados I had to use up so I took half the recipe and bended it together with the avocados to make a sorta guacamole and now that was GOOOOD! I had to add a bit more salt but once I turned it into Guac, I couldn't stop eating it. I ran out of chips and was temped to just eat it with a spoon. I will use this as a "base" for guacamole again for sure and I may try making it again as written to see if it was chunkier if I'd like it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I followed this almost to a tee, right up until it was time to add the can of tomatos/chilis. I decided to omit to stay with a truly fresh salsa, and it was wonderful! The lemon/lime juice gave it a tangy flavor and the cumin added a nice zip. I chopped each of the veggies SEPARATELY in a food processor to obtain the desired consistency for each ingredient and added it all to a bowl. The end result was a very coarse salsa that did not have a whole lot of liquid and I was pleasantly surprised. This was my first time using/tasting jimaca and it added a nice crunch. I made this for the heck of it this afternoon, had several friends stop by unexpectedly and it was gone in a short time. I wasn't sure what to expect when I served, but they loved it and I will make this recipe again (minus the Rotel!) after my next jalopeno harvest from the garden! Give it a try!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Andover, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fuquay Varina, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I'm pretty set in my ways on how I make my salsa, but I saw this recipe a week ago and it's been on my mind since!! Today the husband and I went grocery shopping and decided to grab the ingrediants for this. I was a little hesitant at first because I have never had a jimaca before. The only thing I changed was I added everything in a blender on "chop" setting to keep the thickness of it. I took a chip and slowly dipped it in and WOW!! Very glad I gave this recipe a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States