Fresh Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This is the best salsa recipe I've made. I didn't have the cumin so I'm sure that will make it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMI22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Good salsa. I give it 4 stars because I consider my husbands input, & I couldn't give it 4 & 1/2. I used everything from our garden, so i left out cilantro (my husband doesn't like) & jicama (we didn't grow that). I decreased the amount of cumin to 1/2 tsp. We both thought that the cumin was a little over powering. I also decreased the amount of lemon juice to less than 1 tbsp. Without all the cumin, it seemed to make the salsa more tangy than preferred. Since I omitted the can of green chile & tomato, I used more tomato and a fresh pepper from the garden as well. After these changes, my husband really liked it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Boothc
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I thought it turned out well. Took quite some time to do the chopping but it was worth the effort. I seeded all the tomatoes so it wouldn't turn out watery and used an extra 2. All in all it was good. The jicama was the perfect touch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boothc
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I absolutely love this recipe and reach for it often, especially when vegetables in our garden are ready! Made it just as stated and love the incredible fresh taste it has. The jicama really makes the difference. If there is any leftover, it is great in an omlette the next morning! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I loved this recipe! I didn't change anything about it and it was so yummy! I shared with my in-laws and they loved it too!! It was a little hot so If you dont like that I would do less peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This is without a doubt the best salsa I've ever had. I've made it a half a dozen times just since Super Bowl 2 months ago - it just disappears! Easy to make & the jicama really adds a great flavor. Thank you for sharing this recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I was looking for a recipe for fresh salsa and this one was as close to fresh as I could get. however, I didnt add the canned tomato so as to keep it fresher, just added more fresh tomatoes. I also didn't have the jimaca but this recipe was delicious without it. can't wait to try it next time with the jimaca! thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I thought this was excellent and very refreshing. Nothing like FRESH salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
very very good - definitely use roma tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I made this via the original recipe and then made a few of my own changes. It was much better using just 1 jalapeno, no jicama, and using sweet onion instead of red onion. (It was still "warm" enough for my husband, but not too "hot" for me.) I have substituted regular tomatoes (de-seeded) for the romas and it turned out great as well. I usually just seed the jalapeno then throw everything in the food processor together instead of cutting everything up to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States