Fresh Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Tamala Sue Richards
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
So easy and so delicious!! Perfect exactly as is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Perfect rhubarb pie recipe, butter or no.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne Murphy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vaudreuil-Dorion, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeff
Reviewed: May 19, 2015
This is so easy a 10 year old can make this pie! I only used a cup of sugar and did an egg wash on the top crust. I also only used 3 cups of rhubarb and a cup of strawberries Perfect! Total hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
This is the best rhubarb pie ever! Thanks for the tip of sprinkling 1/4 (about 1/2 cup) of the flour and sugar in bottom of pie crust. That made a delicious caramelized layer on the bottom and left the bottom crust very crisp. I'm going to try that on all my fruit pies from now on. With a 10" pie plate I used 5 cups of rhubarb and adjusted recipe to match but used only 1 1/3 cup sugar with 7 1/2 T. flour and it was sweet enough for me. With the high starting temp I used metal pie crust protectors around the pie rim so the outer crust didn't burn. Thanks Carol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
I follow the recipe as is and I now have to make 2 at time because my son and my husband don't want to share! Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect. Not too sweet and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
I have made a lot of pies over the years and if you like sweet this is your pie. We prefer a little more tart so I increased the amount of rhubarb, the pie is in the oven now. The recipe instructions to put the sugar and the flour top and bottom is good. I always sprinkle a pinch of salt on a pie and always little chunks of butter on top. Pie is not a low cal desert so one must make choices. I aways brush the edge of my crust with cream before I put the lid on and brush the top of the pie with cream and sprinkle a very generous amount of white sugar to give the pie a glorious appearance. I also watch the baking and cover my pie with aluminum foil when it is the perfect color, this is usually the last 10 minutes of baking. All this being said, I made the pie for company following the exact directions and they loved it, but hubby thought is too sweet. The adjusted amount of rhubarb (five cups) was perfect, a little tart and slightly runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
Wow I love this recipe!!! Quick, easy and simply delicious. Thanks for the tip of adding sugar/flour to bottom pie crust and sprinkling the rest over fruit and NOT mixing it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
This was the first pie I ever made. It was just excellent. I made a 10-inch pie and adjusted it like L K Kling recommended (2. review). Just great. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Loved this recipe and it is the only one I use for fresh rhubarb now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 699) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Rhubarb Pie

This old-fashioned rhubarb pie is juicy, tart, and delicious.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States