Fresh Rhubarb Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
Delicious! Because I had it on hand, I used cinnamon raisin bread and eliminated the cinnamon. I also used more bread because the bread slices were thin. It's a great way to use rhubarb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sudie B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: York, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
Loved it! Nice change of pace from the usual rhubarb recipes. I've always been a fan of bread puddings & this didn't disappoint. Also very easy to make. I left the crusts on & it was still excellent. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
Love this recipe! Bread pudding is a comfort food from my childhood and I'll be making it this way every spring when the rhubarb is fresh. I made this with my homemade whole wheat bread, used pecans instead of walnuts because that's what I had and used 3 to 4 cups of rhubarb because I have tons of it in the garden but otherwise no changes. Best warm with fesh cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathyGS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This was excellent. I love rhubarb and bread pudding so this was great. I baked it about 15 minutes longer and it set up perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Excellent recipe-I had 3 cups of frozen rhubarb so I used that and increased the sugar an extra 1/4 cup and added a bit more cinnamon. We thought it was great and will be adding this to the recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I absolutely loved this dish. It was so easy to make. I started eating it right out of the oven and could hardly make myself stop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This recipe is fabulous! In case anyone wants to make it "healthy" here's what I did: I used 8 slices of light whole wheat sandwich bread, substituted 3/4 of the sugar with Splenda. I used a bag of frozen rhubarb which was 3 cups, so I used more sugar/splenda than the original recipe. The original is great, but a guilt-free dessert is just awesome, so I had to tweak it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Wonderful!! I am eagaerly awaiting Rhubarb season to start again here in Wisconsin to make this wonderful dessert! I would have never thought to add Rhubarb to bread pudding......thank you for the recipe! Add a dollop of cream or vanilla ice cream to each serving.....WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Easy to make. Yummy to eat. Great way to use up rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This was a fantastic recipe... and the best part is that it is impossible to screw up! And trust me I tried! I'd made the recipe twice before and thought surely I had it by memory... but added the milk to the eggs and sugar and poured that, cold, over the bread cubes. I let it sit the requisite 15 minutes and then added the rhubarb and butter... it still turned out fabulous! It was even better the next day as breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faircook03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States