Fresh Rhubarb Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This was insanely good and very easy. I made it with some old whole wheat bread, added a little vanilla, and served it with a caramel sauce. It was a huge hit. It's one of the best recipes I've tried so far on AllRecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: St.Thomas, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
So good! I am so excited to have found this great recipe to use my rhubarb in. I made it exactly as the recipe shows - except I didn't serve with cream. Tried it both warm and cold and it was fabulous both ways. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Wonderful! Not that I dislike the pies and cobblers that use up the rhubarb at this time of year, but this is such a NICE change! I used cinnamon-raisin bread in Spring 2008, like one of the earlier reviewers. I liked it a lot, but it is still so much fun to get a husband to say, "This is GREAT! Save this recipe!" I made it again this year (2009) and used half the milk with an equal amount of sour cream that I needed to use up. I added a little light corn syrup to balance the sour cream's tartness. Fabulous again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prairiefire

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
This was a hit with my family. I used Pepperidge Farm cinnamon bread (advised on another bread pudding recipe on this site). I topped it with a vanilla sauce found on this site. I will certainly make this with my next rhubarb harvest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I was a little bit skeptical about this recipe although I love bread pudding and I love rhubarb, I wasn't sure I'd like them together. I read the reviews and had to give it a try. Delicious! My husband, who doesn't usually like bread pudding, loved it too. I served it with a small scoop of vanilla ice cream. The only change I made to the recipe was using light wheat bread instead of regular bread. This is a keeper! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
We loved this recipe! Both of my parents came over to try it and gave it great reviews. My hubby is cleaning his plate at this moment and said it was great. I am not really a fan of rhubarb and even I thought it tasted great. I added some extra break as I think I was using "cheap" white bread and it just didn't look like enough. I added an extra 4 slices and kept all the ingredient amounts the same and it came out perfect! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OhmyDLM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by annie22
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I have wonderful strawberry rhubarb in abundance and bread pudding is another favorite,,,these two together are really different and deeeelicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
This recipe is fantastic! Easy to follow directions and a good way to use extra rhubarb. I thought it was a bit sweet, for my palate, so I will try adding a little less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This was a fantastic recipe... and the best part is that it is impossible to screw up! And trust me I tried! I'd made the recipe twice before and thought surely I had it by memory... but added the milk to the eggs and sugar and poured that, cold, over the bread cubes. I let it sit the requisite 15 minutes and then added the rhubarb and butter... it still turned out fabulous! It was even better the next day as breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faircook03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Easy to make. Yummy to eat. Great way to use up rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States