Fresh Rhubarb Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I made this with about 3/4 of a sourdough baguette and it turned out amazing (nearly addictive!!) - chewy and tangy, balanced by the sweet fluffiness of the custardy mix. This is a great way to use up day-old artisan bread that tends to be a bit crusty and dry. I doubled up the small slices in the toaster after cutting about 1/8-inch off the bottom and the ridges off the top of each slice (process and use as bread crumbs). There's no need to cut off the sides or be too fussy with this part. This is a worthwhile (and pretty healthy) dish to bake and if rhubarb isn't in season, granny smith apples, cranberries, or other varieties of fruits can be used with great success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I used frozen rhubarb and forgot to add the extra sugar that frozen rhubarb seems to call for but it was still excellent, definitely something to be made again. My dad even liked it. He hates bread pudding cuz he was forced to eat it alot as a kid growing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I always follow the recipe exactly how written the first time and did so with this. I did bake for 1 hour 10 minutes, though...20 minutes longer than the recipe called for. This is a winner - my family raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Love

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Blakeslee, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: White Haven, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
My husbands mother used to make bread pudding which I never thought as something that great, but he loved it. So for fathers day I decided to make this one up as I had just been given fresh garden rhubarb. He was crazy for it and I also really enjoyed it. The only changes I made was used pecans instead of walnuts and tossed in a handful of craisins with the rhubarb. Today my husband came home with some day old bread in the hopes that I will make it again. I think that says it all...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raymond, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Simple and delicious. Not to tart but the rhubarb adds a nice tart twist. I'll pass this one along and definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Very Very Good!! Loved it. Husband did'nt care for the fact that it's made with bread but it was the first time I made bread pudding. Even my 3yr old son loved it and he can be quite picky. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I reserve bread pudding until I have odds and ends in my refrigerator, so this one was made with two hot dog buns, two hamburger buns, two heels of wheat bread and four Madeline cookies. I cubed & toasted them and baked the whole thing in a 9x13 dish. Other than that I followed the exact recipe and it turned out great. Mine baked for a little over an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
This was wonderful! I normally prefer desserts warm, but this was better served cold the next morning. I served it with whipped topping. Next time I will add a little vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy K

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I was expecting more of a bread pudding not a custard texture. Did not care for it warm but good cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taylor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
This is awesome!! I was looking for something beyond the typical pie for my fresh rhubarb and I hit a winner!! Give this a try. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States