Fresh Rhubarb Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
left off the walnuts, we have allergy issues, so added extra rhubarb, was extrmely good. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lewiston, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pastrychef
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This was a great recipe to work with. I did customize it though. Instead of 1 1/2 cups of milk I did just 1 cup of milk and added a 1/4 cup of cream. I also used 1 cup of white sugar and then sprinkled brown sugar on top making sure I covered it with foil for the first 30 minutes so that it could melt. I added a touch more cinnamon and about 1/4 tsp of nutmeg. I also put in only 1 1/2 cups of diced rhubarb and then put in some sliced strawberries and raspberries and just eyeballed the amount that I wanted. And instead of using walnuts, I sprinkled raw sliced almonds on top. As far as the directions, I added the white sugar to the milk/cream/butter mixture and then tempered it in to the egg/cinnamon/nutmeg mixture before pouring it over the bread and letting it soak. Finally, I served it with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top. It was delicious!!! I also found these great foil containers with cardboard covers so that I could make extra and freeze them. Next time, I make this I will take a picture of it and add it to the photo album on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pastrychef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Almost identical to my recipe. I use ground nutmeg instead of cinnamon & serve with a small scoop of good quality vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Instead of fresh rhubarb, I used 2 measured cups of canned rhubarb, then added the juice. Using the canned fruit we didnt experience an egg taste. It was delicious, with no tartness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Absolutely fantastic. Served it for dessert on Easter and got rave reviews. Served it with a custard sauce. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acarp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Claremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Brilliant!!!!!! 'Himself' hanging around the kitchen aroma before it was even cooked through. Got a huge thumbs up for what he described as a 'trial taste'. Definitely a keeper. mmmmmm - Tx.. all the way from Australia:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Made this for my 87 yr old grandfather for his birthday (two of his favorites in one dish!) but once I started sampling it there wasn't enough to share! LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
This is truly wonderful. Try it warm with cream or ice cream. Or eat it cold on the next day. Actually, next day it is even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Love it! I made it with Simple Whole Wheat bread from this site, left the crusts on, added a small splash of vanilla and since I didn't have walnuts, I used some sliced almonds. When I told my husband what I was making, he asked why I had to mess with Bread Pudding by putting rhubarb in it. Then he tasted it. I have been instructed to never make Bread Pudding any other way ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathalinaFina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Bonners Ferry, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thehappycook
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I thought this was a weird way to make a bread pudding, but the reviewers gave me enough courage to give it a go. They were right. This is amazing. I've made it twice, and each time it's awesome. I use a sweet bread and I'm lazy, so I left the crusts on. For effect, I've taken to sprinkling demerara sugar on top of all my bread puddings, but it doesn't need it. The recipe is excellent as is. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States