Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
The best ever!!! I will never ever make any other kind of pumpkin pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Delicious pie -- even my wife who doesn't like pumpkin pie likes this one. I use sugar pumpkins cooked in the oven and increase the spices a bit, but it is a very good base to start from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Me and my mom had a pumpkin pie contest at Thanksgiving, and this recipe was so good she ended up eating it instead of her own! The honey adds a unique, awesome flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Excellent pumpkin pie. The honey gives it a really rich taste. Very unique pie, like none I have ever tasted. Would make this again and again. I did use a regular jack o lantern pumpkin which I baked and took the skin off and then mashed. It still was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This is better than any other pumpkin pie I have ever had! My husband and daughters all love it too. A perfect compliment to our Thanksgiving feast. This will now be a tradition for our family. AWESOME PIE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
WOW, i was hesitant to try this recipe, but im soooo glad that i did. I did one fresh and one with canned pumpkin puree. Not much of a difference, so dont worry if you dont want to do fresh, it still comes out absolutely delicious! I loved this recipe thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifeyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This was the best pumpkin pie I've ever had--and usually I'm not a huge fan of pumpkin pie. I'm living in France for a few months and wanted to make something with the pumpkin my husband carved for Halloween. I chose this recipe because it's simple and I didn't want to buy a lot of ingredients. I also don't have a mixer so I just mashed the pumpkin with a fork and blended the pie filling with a whisk--this gave it a chunkier texture than regular smooth pumpkin pie, but we thought this made it taste even better. The honey also gave it a great flavor, and I used fresh grated ginger. Still have extra pumpkin in the freezer so I'll be making another pie or two for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Not the best flavor, couldn't really taste the seasoning. The texture was great, but the rest was just ok. Won't be trying it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This was not to my liking. The honey taste is overpowering and it taste nothing like a pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Delmar, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I had fresh pumpkin to use, and this recipe called for stuff we can eat on our diet, so I tried it. Although I cut back the honey a bit and upped the spices, it still tasted quite strongly of honey and there wasn't much other taste. The texture was very nice, but I had a lot of extra "water". Perhaps I should have drained the pumpkin puree longer? The recipe didn't say to drain it at all, but my pumpkin seemed a lot more watery than canned, so I drained it for a few minutes. I was hoping the recipe took that into account, since it's for fresh pumpkin. I think that if I cut back the honey further and up the spices further and drain my pumpkin longer, this will be a very good recipe, but as it stands, it's just OK. My kids really liked it, but it was "their" pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States