Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Wonderful pie. I let the pumpkin drain for a few hours after mashing and putting through a sieve. The flavor and texture were perfect. I followed others suggestions and doubled the spices, adding fresh grated ginger, and using 3/4 C of honey. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Delicious!~ Made it with real pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I am really anxious to try this recipe tomorrow, Thanksgiving! My pumpkin is all pureed in my Vitamix and I'm ready to go! It sounds wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This pie was very good. A little too sweet for my personal taste but still very good! I used fresh nutmeg instead of the ginger and used 1 full teaspoon of cinnamon in this recipe and used a gingersnap crust. The texture was different but I liked it. It seemed too watery but set up just fine. I will make again with less honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I thought that it was too much salt. I will half it next time. Otherwise, great ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by do328
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Super easy and the best pumpkin pie I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This is the best pumpkin pie I've made in 30 years. Extraordinary taste. I made the following small modifications: 1) used 3/4 cup honey; 2) used 1 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp cardamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp ginger (important to grind these spices together prior to adding to mix). To cook the pumpkin, I cut the pumpkin in half and cleaned the insides, then placed both halves (inside down) in a 9x13 glass pan with 1.5 inches water. Placed pumpkin in 375 degree oven for about an hour. Used a gluten-free pre-made frozen crust purchased at Whole Foods; pre-baked crust in 375 degree oven for about 5 minutes and covered the crust with an aluminum shield. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I am sorry to say that I was disappointed in this pie. More like 2 1/2 stars. The seasoning was off, very bland. It needed more spices. Also, it had an eggy texture, rather than the typical pumpkin pie denser texture. I think 3 eggs probably would have been more than enough. Some people may like that fluffier texture though. Lastly, although I cut the honey to 3/4 cup as many suggested (followed the rest of the recipe exactly), it was still an overpowering flavor. To me it was a honey egg pie with slight pumpkin flavor. All that being said, I will say the pie wasn't gross, it tasted okay. It just didn't have the right texture or taste like pumpkin pie! I have had fresh before and it was delish! This just didn't do it for me, sorry. I may have been expecting too much, after all this had great reviews!! To each his own I guess I must be a bit more traditionalist than the higher reviewers...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Its was ok, but I didn't like the flavor and texture as much as other recipes. It seemed to be missing something but I'm not sure what it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QTSunDoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Emeryville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe!! I really like the fact that it is only sweetened with honey! Will definitly be making again! Thank you Lord for all (my) lifes blessings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sams girl

Displaying results 51-60 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States