Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I am sorry to say that I was disappointed in this pie. More like 2 1/2 stars. The seasoning was off, very bland. It needed more spices. Also, it had an eggy texture, rather than the typical pumpkin pie denser texture. I think 3 eggs probably would have been more than enough. Some people may like that fluffier texture though. Lastly, although I cut the honey to 3/4 cup as many suggested (followed the rest of the recipe exactly), it was still an overpowering flavor. To me it was a honey egg pie with slight pumpkin flavor. All that being said, I will say the pie wasn't gross, it tasted okay. It just didn't have the right texture or taste like pumpkin pie! I have had fresh before and it was delish! This just didn't do it for me, sorry. I may have been expecting too much, after all this had great reviews!! To each his own I guess I must be a bit more traditionalist than the higher reviewers...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Its was ok, but I didn't like the flavor and texture as much as other recipes. It seemed to be missing something but I'm not sure what it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QTSunDoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Emeryville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe!! I really like the fact that it is only sweetened with honey! Will definitly be making again! Thank you Lord for all (my) lifes blessings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sams girl
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I really like the fact that this recipe does not use sugar. Next time I will probably use 3/4 cup of honey b/c 1 cup is a bit too sweet for me. I added nutmeg and used evaporated milk instead of the milk/whipping cream. A solid recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I love this pie! I've made it for two years now every Fall, and I always make 4-6 pies cause everyone in my family loves them! FYI, I've never used the sugar pumpkins, cause I could never find any, but the larger pumpkins did just fine. Here are my adjustments/tips: 1. If you plan on using an entire large pumpkin, be prepared to make about 4 pies worth of filling. 2. Double the cinnamon, add a couple of extra dashes of ginger. 3. Hey, why not.... Add a couple of dashes of ground nutmeg and ground cloves. 4. Use a tad less honey (3/4 cup-ish) 5. Try not to bake more than two pies at once. 6. Have fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe!! Never done a pie from scratch , I always used canned stuff. It turned out absolutely perfect!!! Everyone LOVED it!! I just doubled the spices and added a tsp of pumpkin spice , only because I love the spices , it was soooooo good :) I so recommend everyone try this recipe. Won't make a pumpkin pie any other way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This is truly the best pumpkin pie I've ever had - and I even used canned pumpkin! There's something about the honey that brings out the natural flavors of the other ingredients. I can't wait to try it using real pumpkin! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
It was perfect when I followed reviews to decrease honey to 3/4 cup. 50 minutes and mine is slightly burnt. I also ha enough filling for 2 9" pies. Great honey flavor & great overall pie. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Tahlequah, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I buy and cook pumpkins down every year. A sugar pumpkin pales in comparison to a cinderella pumpkin. The outside looks dull and boring but the flesh inside is both rich in color and flavor. It's also easier to clean and cook. Using a cinderella pumpkin took this already fabulous recipe and made it off the chart. Paired w/ a whole wheat pastry shell & fresh grated ginger makes this a desert you can have no regrets about but feel good that you're nourishing your family. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
The taste of the honey was way too overpowering and did not go well with the ginger. I am not sure why, because the recipe sounds lovely. Perhaps it was just the variety of honey I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States