Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by do328
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Super easy and the best pumpkin pie I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This is the best pumpkin pie I've made in 30 years. Extraordinary taste. I made the following small modifications: 1) used 3/4 cup honey; 2) used 1 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp cardamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp ginger (important to grind these spices together prior to adding to mix). To cook the pumpkin, I cut the pumpkin in half and cleaned the insides, then placed both halves (inside down) in a 9x13 glass pan with 1.5 inches water. Placed pumpkin in 375 degree oven for about an hour. Used a gluten-free pre-made frozen crust purchased at Whole Foods; pre-baked crust in 375 degree oven for about 5 minutes and covered the crust with an aluminum shield. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I am sorry to say that I was disappointed in this pie. More like 2 1/2 stars. The seasoning was off, very bland. It needed more spices. Also, it had an eggy texture, rather than the typical pumpkin pie denser texture. I think 3 eggs probably would have been more than enough. Some people may like that fluffier texture though. Lastly, although I cut the honey to 3/4 cup as many suggested (followed the rest of the recipe exactly), it was still an overpowering flavor. To me it was a honey egg pie with slight pumpkin flavor. All that being said, I will say the pie wasn't gross, it tasted okay. It just didn't have the right texture or taste like pumpkin pie! I have had fresh before and it was delish! This just didn't do it for me, sorry. I may have been expecting too much, after all this had great reviews!! To each his own I guess I must be a bit more traditionalist than the higher reviewers...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Its was ok, but I didn't like the flavor and texture as much as other recipes. It seemed to be missing something but I'm not sure what it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QTSunDoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Emeryville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe!! I really like the fact that it is only sweetened with honey! Will definitly be making again! Thank you Lord for all (my) lifes blessings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sams girl
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I really like the fact that this recipe does not use sugar. Next time I will probably use 3/4 cup of honey b/c 1 cup is a bit too sweet for me. I added nutmeg and used evaporated milk instead of the milk/whipping cream. A solid recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I love this pie! I've made it for two years now every Fall, and I always make 4-6 pies cause everyone in my family loves them! FYI, I've never used the sugar pumpkins, cause I could never find any, but the larger pumpkins did just fine. Here are my adjustments/tips: 1. If you plan on using an entire large pumpkin, be prepared to make about 4 pies worth of filling. 2. Double the cinnamon, add a couple of extra dashes of ginger. 3. Hey, why not.... Add a couple of dashes of ground nutmeg and ground cloves. 4. Use a tad less honey (3/4 cup-ish) 5. Try not to bake more than two pies at once. 6. Have fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe!! Never done a pie from scratch , I always used canned stuff. It turned out absolutely perfect!!! Everyone LOVED it!! I just doubled the spices and added a tsp of pumpkin spice , only because I love the spices , it was soooooo good :) I so recommend everyone try this recipe. Won't make a pumpkin pie any other way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This is truly the best pumpkin pie I've ever had - and I even used canned pumpkin! There's something about the honey that brings out the natural flavors of the other ingredients. I can't wait to try it using real pumpkin! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
It was perfect when I followed reviews to decrease honey to 3/4 cup. 50 minutes and mine is slightly burnt. I also ha enough filling for 2 9" pies. Great honey flavor & great overall pie. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Tahlequah, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States