Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I used the canned pumpkin purée - no time for other. This is the first homemade pumpkin pie I've had and it was great; not too strong of a flavor. I will try the fresh pumpkin next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Awesome best recipe my go to pumpkin pie love the fact it use honey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This was my first time every making a pumpkin pie from scratch. Everyone loved the pies. Even someone who hates pumpkin pie liked this pie. I will keep on making this recipe. The only thing I changed is I added a little more ground ginger and cinnamon. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Super delicious! I cut the honey in half and added ground gloves among other things. It was perfect with half the honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
There is entirely TOO much honey in the recipe. What is more, the pie tends to be runny, so I suggest that addition of tapioca starch or corn starch if you are willing to try this SUPER sweet pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MewCat100

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Following the reviews of others,I altered the recipe slightly. I did a half cup of honey, only 3 eggs, and omitted the heavy cream. I did use about a 1/4 cup milk to puree the pumpkin in the food processor and added a dash of nutmeg. Was very easy to make. The batter did seem thin but it cooked up perfectly. Absolutely superb pumpkin pie! Highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I followed this recipe precisely he first time. It was lovely! The second time, I messed with it a lot to make 'breakfast pie' for our kids. Instead of the 1c of honey, I used 1/2 c of overripe pears and 1/2c of honey and maple syrup mixed. Instead of heavy cream and milk, I used 1c of 2% milk. I also added a 1/2 tsp of vanilla to enhance the sweetness. Finally, I think I added a bit more spice to taste. It still turned out super yummy, and I felt better about it as a breakfast pie! Next time, I may try 1/4c honey/maple, with 3/4 cup overripe pear/applesauce. If I do, I'll let you know how it turns out :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This was so delicious! Everyone loved it at Thanksgiving and said it tasted like real pumpkin. A couple of notes: I upped the spices. I used 1 t cinnamon, 1 t nutmeg, and 1 t fresh grated ginger. I also shorted the honey a little and added a couple T real maple syrup and a splash of black molasses. I followed the recipe exactly otherwise, and yielded enough to make an 11-inch pie. Also, I followed the advice in WILSONWIFE's review (thank you!) and roasted the pumpkin whole the night before. It was so easy to work with and cooked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I don't change a thing . I have used this recipe for years. My family won't eat any other. Dont let the runnyness scare you it comes out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Great recipe! Like other reviewers I used more spice (2 tsp pumpkin pie spice). I also switched from honey to sugar. I used 1 cup milk, no cream. Turned out really nice and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States