Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
Just delicious! My husband loves traditional pumpkin pie recipes, but loved this one. It has a lighter flavor and color, maybe because of the honey. It made tons of filling though, so I ended up using half of it for pumpkin bars (a recipe I had on file). If you used a deep dish pie plate and crust, it might have fit it all. I will be using this for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This pie was delicious. I thought it’d come out with some lumps or something because I don’t own a blender or a food processor to make the puree with; it didn’t. However, it took a lot longer to cook than the 50 or 55 minutes the directions indicate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I'm not a huge fan of pumpkin pie, I think because I really don't like the taste of cloves. And it seems like every PP filling in the world uses cloves. This one didn't. It's more work to start from just a pumpkin, but the taste is fantastic, and totally worth it! I also used more cinnamon, because I do like that, and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYT21

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Fantastic recipe! I will be making this again for sure :D It was a big hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Loved it and so did the grandkids,"pumpkin pie doesnt come from a can!" fun to make very delious, this will be an annual
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This pie was amazing! I froze the leftover pumpkin puree so that I won't have to use canned pumpkin at all this winter! The honey is a great touch - sets off the flavor perfectly. This will be my standard recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roslyn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I made this for Thanksgiving and the whole family loved it! Definitely the best pumpkin pie recipe we've ever tasted. The honey is perfect with the pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
This has become an absolute must at family gatherings! It is now the most requested item that I must take along. Great kid AND adult appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Onoway, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Excellent! Doubled the spices, added 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla and it was delicious. I will make again soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Awesome! The first pumpkin pie I made without condensed milk, and it was worth it. Definitely add more spices, as many have suggested: I put in 1tsp ginger, nutmeg, cinnamon, and 2tsp vanilla extract. I also subbed out maybe 1/4 cup honey and put in 1/4 cup molasses, which worked surprisingly well. A word of caution though - I always baked my pie pumpkin on a cookie sheet with water on it. If you do it this way, this recipe is kind of soupy and needs longer to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DannyBoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States