Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Delicious pie! Not too sweet and the pumpkin flavor really stands out. I doubled the amount of pumpkin and the spices too. It helped but next time I'd add even more spice--triple the amounts, maybe. I would not recommend eating this pie right out of the oven. Make it the day before so it can spend a night in the refrigerator, which greatly improves its texture and brings out the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I baked my pumpkin until the crust became crispy and I could just peel it off. Next time I will only add 1/2 or 3/4 cup of honey. It was slightly too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
LIght and refreshing. I give this a 4 because of the spices. I personally like a little more traditional taste. However, this is a very nice spin on an old favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Not Bad, if you closed your eyes it tastes pretty much like the " home made from the Can recipe". Color seemed too light and maybe needed to be pureed more before I made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
First, I have to admit that I have limited personal experience with pumpkin pie. I never cared for it until recently....I guess my tastes are changing as I get older. My daughter wanted to see how a pumpkin goes from field to pie, so this was our foray, as far as baking one. I followed the directions as written, but doubling the spices per other reviews. The end result is kind of bland. Not bad, just bland. I will increase the honey by 1/2 cup (total 1 1/2 cups) and add another 1/2 tsp. ginger (total 1 1/2 tsp.) and add another full tsp. cinnamon (total 2 tsp.) next time. I also added 1 tsp. Watkins Pumpkin Pie Spice and will keep that. Also, my crust was really bland, though that is not the fault of this recipe and my score does not reflect that. I will add a dash of sugar to my crust next time. We'll see how the next one comes out, taste-wise. Texture- and "set"-wise, it turned out great. I think this is a good starting point, and just have to adjust sweetness and spice to suit my personal tastes. Oh....I pureed my cooked pumpkin with my hand mixer, and that made the puree really nice and smooth. I think it takes a little more blending than simply mashing to get a nice, velvety texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I made this with one of my butternut squash and it was fantastico!! Hot out of the oven with vanilla ice cream made it heavenly. I must add that I do not use crust, I just spray the baking dish with pam and pour in the filling. Less calories, less work!! My family gobbled this one up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
great basic recipe. checked all the reviews and found a few useful. used 3 eggs, doubled the cinnamon, added 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tsp pumpkin spice and next time will try 1 tsp ground cloves too!! It wlll sweeten the recipe further without excess sugar. Also using honey in baking and cooking changes its properties so it is not advisable but I used 1/2 cup cane juice sugar, and 1/2 cup jaggery which contains many nutrients, minerals and protein too. If you can't find powdered jaggery use turbinado sugar. And definately, as a reviewer commented use foil for edges.The pie was fabulous, and not too sweet but the natural sweetness of the pumpkin came through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I think that this WOULD have been a good pumpkin pie-if it hadn't had so much honey in it. I will definitely be substituting sugar next time. It was a disappointment to work so hard on a 10 inch deep dish pie, with all scratch ingredients and have it turn out badly. Definitely watch the honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Tastes great, but I still prefer pp with cloves too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Made too much filling for a single pie (even though I only had 3 eggs), but it was sooo good. I reduced the honey a bit and added more ginger. Firmed up in only 45 minutes using 3 eggs. This was my first time making fresh pumpkin pie and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tralad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States