Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I made this with one of my butternut squash and it was fantastico!! Hot out of the oven with vanilla ice cream made it heavenly. I must add that I do not use crust, I just spray the baking dish with pam and pour in the filling. Less calories, less work!! My family gobbled this one up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
great basic recipe. checked all the reviews and found a few useful. used 3 eggs, doubled the cinnamon, added 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tsp pumpkin spice and next time will try 1 tsp ground cloves too!! It wlll sweeten the recipe further without excess sugar. Also using honey in baking and cooking changes its properties so it is not advisable but I used 1/2 cup cane juice sugar, and 1/2 cup jaggery which contains many nutrients, minerals and protein too. If you can't find powdered jaggery use turbinado sugar. And definately, as a reviewer commented use foil for edges.The pie was fabulous, and not too sweet but the natural sweetness of the pumpkin came through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I think that this WOULD have been a good pumpkin pie-if it hadn't had so much honey in it. I will definitely be substituting sugar next time. It was a disappointment to work so hard on a 10 inch deep dish pie, with all scratch ingredients and have it turn out badly. Definitely watch the honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Tastes great, but I still prefer pp with cloves too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Made too much filling for a single pie (even though I only had 3 eggs), but it was sooo good. I reduced the honey a bit and added more ginger. Firmed up in only 45 minutes using 3 eggs. This was my first time making fresh pumpkin pie and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tralad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
The best ever!!! I will never ever make any other kind of pumpkin pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Delicious pie -- even my wife who doesn't like pumpkin pie likes this one. I use sugar pumpkins cooked in the oven and increase the spices a bit, but it is a very good base to start from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Me and my mom had a pumpkin pie contest at Thanksgiving, and this recipe was so good she ended up eating it instead of her own! The honey adds a unique, awesome flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Excellent pumpkin pie. The honey gives it a really rich taste. Very unique pie, like none I have ever tasted. Would make this again and again. I did use a regular jack o lantern pumpkin which I baked and took the skin off and then mashed. It still was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This is better than any other pumpkin pie I have ever had! My husband and daughters all love it too. A perfect compliment to our Thanksgiving feast. This will now be a tradition for our family. AWESOME PIE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States