Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I hate to be one of those people who didn't follow the recipe -- but I changed it. I had just one small pie plate, so after adding the spices to two cups of mashed pumpkin, I stirred in 1/2 cup honey, 1/2 cup cream, and three eggs. That made more than enough filling for one pie. It was delicious! My mom said it was one of the best pumpkin pies she has eaten. From a previous experience making pie from fresh pumpkin, make sure you scrape ALL of the stringy stuff off before cooking, because that stuff has a terrible texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Have made this for many years, it is my only recipe - i reduce the honey to about 3/4 cup, add clove & nutmeg to my taste, double cinnamon, fresh ginger, and 1 T. of dark rum. serve with fresh whipped cream (w/ a little more rum :). have converted many friends & family over from traditional pumpkin pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Pumpkin pie is my favorite and I have to admit, at first I had my doubts about this pie. How could it be good if you don't use sugar? Boy, was I wrong. Looking for healthier options is why I tried this and it is a hit at my house! We call it our guilt free pumpkin pie. One thing that I might do is experiment a little with the spices, just because, I love the fall spices. Thank you for your recipe! So glad to have a recipe for my favorite pie that is guilt free and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Barbourville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: University Place, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
made this, and it was ok, I think it was very light, i think I like the can pumpkin better personally. But it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
OMG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dolldancer8

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This recipe was delicious! I baked it for my Mom's birthday and it was a hit. Even I liked it, and I'm not very huge on sweets, let alone pumpkin. I used only 1/4th cup of honey and also added another 1/4th cup of sugar and it was perfectly sweet, but not too much so. I definitely wouldn't recommend using more than 1/2 cup of honey in total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I have been using this recipe for the last 5 years; it is always a hit. As is is wonderful, but I add a pinch of nutmeg & ground cloves to mine. The honey is so complementary in flavor to the pumpkin. It makes enough for two pies, so be aware. We top ours off with some fresh whipped cream. Mmmm... So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Loved it! I actually replaced the cream with greek yogurt and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
The best pumpkin pie have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
My first attempt at cooking a pumpkin and my first attempt at a pumpkin pie and multiple people told me it was the best they've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States