Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This recipe helped me through my first, from scratch pumpkin pie! The Cinderella pumpkin I had, had to cook for quite a bit longer, perhaps because of it's massive size. The balance of all the spices added in this recipe along with that fresh baked pumpkin, it was worth it! I kept seeing those cans on sale around T'giving thinking, "Hmm...should I grab those just to be safe?" I didn't to force myself to use my uncut Halloween pumpkin. Even though by the time I was to puree my pumpkin, my Cuisinart mixer of 12 years finally decided to die, (had to run out with just 15 min to spare-Thanks to Sur La Table for staying open till 9pm night before T'giving!) had to buy a new processor. I made two pies and everyone just, "Mmmmmed!" and "Ahhhhed" over this pie! I have to agree. It was out of this world, hands down best pumpkin pie I have ever had! Worth all the effort. Next year, I know I won't have electronic issues and my confidence in baking the pumpkin is there, that this will be a cinch next time! Definitely give this one a WHIRL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LH28

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This is a great pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This is the BEST pumpkin pie! My son's favorite is pumpkin and now he wants only this pie, (not canned pumpkin). It is worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I hate to be one of those people who didn't follow the recipe -- but I changed it. I had just one small pie plate, so after adding the spices to two cups of mashed pumpkin, I stirred in 1/2 cup honey, 1/2 cup cream, and three eggs. That made more than enough filling for one pie. It was delicious! My mom said it was one of the best pumpkin pies she has eaten. From a previous experience making pie from fresh pumpkin, make sure you scrape ALL of the stringy stuff off before cooking, because that stuff has a terrible texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Have made this for many years, it is my only recipe - i reduce the honey to about 3/4 cup, add clove & nutmeg to my taste, double cinnamon, fresh ginger, and 1 T. of dark rum. serve with fresh whipped cream (w/ a little more rum :). have converted many friends & family over from traditional pumpkin pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Pumpkin pie is my favorite and I have to admit, at first I had my doubts about this pie. How could it be good if you don't use sugar? Boy, was I wrong. Looking for healthier options is why I tried this and it is a hit at my house! We call it our guilt free pumpkin pie. One thing that I might do is experiment a little with the spices, just because, I love the fall spices. Thank you for your recipe! So glad to have a recipe for my favorite pie that is guilt free and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Barbourville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: University Place, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
made this, and it was ok, I think it was very light, i think I like the can pumpkin better personally. But it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
OMG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dolldancer8

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This recipe was delicious! I baked it for my Mom's birthday and it was a hit. Even I liked it, and I'm not very huge on sweets, let alone pumpkin. I used only 1/4th cup of honey and also added another 1/4th cup of sugar and it was perfectly sweet, but not too much so. I definitely wouldn't recommend using more than 1/2 cup of honey in total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I have been using this recipe for the last 5 years; it is always a hit. As is is wonderful, but I add a pinch of nutmeg & ground cloves to mine. The honey is so complementary in flavor to the pumpkin. It makes enough for two pies, so be aware. We top ours off with some fresh whipped cream. Mmmm... So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States