Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
This wasn't great. I hate the idea of using canned pumpkin, and chose this recipe because it looked like the best one that used fresh pumpkin. I found that it tasted very bland, even though i added a lot more spice than was recommended, and also didn't really taste of pumpkin at all. perhaps i just used a poor quality pumpkin? however, this did have a very stringy texture - even after putting the pumpkin puree into the blender i still couldn't get it smooth. however, as this recipe did get such good reviews, i would probably try it again, and make sure i use a really good pumpkin. i did make a few changes to the recipe: added more spice, about 2 tablespoons of ground ginger and cinnamon. also, substituted a couple of tablespoons of homey for stem ginger syrup (I live in UK, so don't know if you can get that in US) which tastes really nice - sweet and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
This is a wonderful pie! Everyone who has tasted it says it's the best pumpkin pie they've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
This pie is exceptionally good!!! I used Marie Callendar's pie shells and actually got 2 pies out of the recipe - way too much filling for one shell. I followed the directions exactly as given for preparing the both puree and the recipe and I'm really pleased with the results. Will stick with this recipe as long as I can get ahold of fresh pumpkins!! My neighbor had an over-abundance of pie pumpkins and I snagged 6 of them. Got a total of 11 cups of puree, so I froze what I didn't use immediately in 2 C. portions in quart-size zip locks as most recipes call for 2 cups puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2002
I like that this recipe uses all natural ingredients, and tastes great! I use less honey than the recipe calls for (3/4 c) I have also made it using 1/2 c honey and 1/4 c maple syrup, and it added a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
I made this recipe for thanksgiving. I have never made pumpkin pie but this turned out wonderful. I had some left over ingredients so I made some little pumpkin pies by using a muffin pan. I think this become more convenient since you can just grab one and not bother with cutting and using a folk to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boulder Creek, California, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
Very good pie!! I love honey so this was the recipe for me!! Even my two year old liked the "pumpkin pudding." (She does not eat crust so I baked some in custard cups.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
This was so good. However I think next time I wont add so much honey. But it really did turn out really well and everyone loved it, including my husband who doesn't like any pumpkin pie unless it's bought at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
I've made this pie for the past few years, and EVERYONE just loves it!! I will continue to make this pie for years to come! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
This is the BEST pumpkin pie I've had. If you want to "taste" the pumpkin and not have it overwhelmed this is the recipe for you. I cut the honey back to 3/4 cup and boiled the pumpkin instead of baking it, it was faster and easier. I read pages of reviews before I decided which pumpkin pie recipe to try - YUMOLA!!! I like fresh, I will never buy canned pumpkin again! After all, I live close to Chez Panise where fresh, good, seasonal produce is IT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States