Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
first time using fresh pumpkin. Texture was fine, the flavor was just not something we were used to. I'll try again with canned pumpkin before deleting from recipe box
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
This recipe is excellent! This was my first pumpkin pie ever and as I live overseas canned pumpkin isn't available I had no choice but to start from scratch. I read the previous reviews and also reduced the honey to 3/4 cup and increased the cinnamon ginger (about 1/8 tsp. each). Also, I boiled the pumpkin instead of baking as suggested in the recipe...much easier, I think. I somehow forgot to add the vegetable oil but the filling didn't appear to suffer because of this omission. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mister G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
Not sweet enough for my tooth, but this was one of my first cooking adventures, so I wouldn't necessarily take my word for it. Also, living in the Czech Republic it's hard to find exactly what is on the recipe. All in all, pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
This wasn't great. I hate the idea of using canned pumpkin, and chose this recipe because it looked like the best one that used fresh pumpkin. I found that it tasted very bland, even though i added a lot more spice than was recommended, and also didn't really taste of pumpkin at all. perhaps i just used a poor quality pumpkin? however, this did have a very stringy texture - even after putting the pumpkin puree into the blender i still couldn't get it smooth. however, as this recipe did get such good reviews, i would probably try it again, and make sure i use a really good pumpkin. i did make a few changes to the recipe: added more spice, about 2 tablespoons of ground ginger and cinnamon. also, substituted a couple of tablespoons of homey for stem ginger syrup (I live in UK, so don't know if you can get that in US) which tastes really nice - sweet and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
This is a wonderful pie! Everyone who has tasted it says it's the best pumpkin pie they've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
This pie is exceptionally good!!! I used Marie Callendar's pie shells and actually got 2 pies out of the recipe - way too much filling for one shell. I followed the directions exactly as given for preparing the both puree and the recipe and I'm really pleased with the results. Will stick with this recipe as long as I can get ahold of fresh pumpkins!! My neighbor had an over-abundance of pie pumpkins and I snagged 6 of them. Got a total of 11 cups of puree, so I froze what I didn't use immediately in 2 C. portions in quart-size zip locks as most recipes call for 2 cups puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2002
I like that this recipe uses all natural ingredients, and tastes great! I use less honey than the recipe calls for (3/4 c) I have also made it using 1/2 c honey and 1/4 c maple syrup, and it added a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
I made this recipe for thanksgiving. I have never made pumpkin pie but this turned out wonderful. I had some left over ingredients so I made some little pumpkin pies by using a muffin pan. I think this become more convenient since you can just grab one and not bother with cutting and using a folk to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boulder Creek, California, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
Very good pie!! I love honey so this was the recipe for me!! Even my two year old liked the "pumpkin pudding." (She does not eat crust so I baked some in custard cups.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States