Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
This is the best pumpkin pie ever!!! Do put in at least double the spices and personally I think it's sweet enough. MMmmm Mmmm Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
WOW! That was sooooooo good! When I mixed everything together, it was very runny. I didn't think it would turn out, but it did! And it was great! Thanks for the great recipe! It was my first time making pumpkin pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
I was very excited about trying this recipe. I love to cook but am not a baker. My husband and I worked together on this and I must tell you I was extremely disappointed. It was very bland and the texture was terrible in my mouth. I thought it would have been sweeter and more of a cinnimon flavor, even the aroma was not pleasant. I followed the recipe to the hilt. I may try again and tweek a bit the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
Very bland, needs more spice. Should have drained the pumpkin more after baking as it was very watery. Texture was extreamly light. I liked the fact that it was sweetened with honey instead of sugar, with a little tweaking this recipe could be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
This pie was bland, it did not really have any flavor to speak of...just a mealy texture in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFERGRAY04

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oroville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
Excellent recipe, I added extra nutmeg and everyone in my home loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
This turned out beautifully! I don't normally like pumpkin pie, but the fresh pumpkin and honey made this pie delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
nothing like fresh pumpkin pie. My best tip is to Microwave the fresh pumpkin by piercing it a few times with a serving fork or something long and sharp. place pumpkin in a plate because it can ooze. for a large pumpkin, 10 on high minutes per pound works great. If you microwave 2 smaller ones together it gets tricky with time, you will need to experiment. cook til skin is soft and impressionable. LET COOL before scooping out seeds (save 'em to roast and salt and put in candy dishes) or scooping out the meet. the pumpkin will be much easier/less messy to deal with when cooled. Second hint: cover fluting on your pie crust with file or aluminum rings throughout baking. that temp. is high, they will burn. I find that it manages to brown through the foil, but if not, remove foil last 5-7 minutes of baking. yummy! Oh, also try serving with CARMEL CINAMON ice cream (or carmel ice cream sprinkiled with cinnamon, yummy plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
This recipe makes enough filling for TWO 9" pies. I use 2/3 cup honey and 1/3 cup Lyle's Golden Syrup which makes it sublime. It's spectacular made with FRESH ginger. Really the best pumpkin pie I've ever had! I freeze leftover pureed pumpkin in 2-cup portions in ziploc bags so it's handy to use for more pies or pumpkin bread later on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
Used butternut squash (steamed for 15 minutes, then pulp just fell off the skin), then followed directions exactly. Well, did add an additional dash of pumpkin pie seasoning. This came out absolutely divine. First pumpkin pie I've ever made without canned pumpkin, and wow what a difference. Truly a spectacular end to a holiday dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States