Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
This turned out beautifully! I don't normally like pumpkin pie, but the fresh pumpkin and honey made this pie delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
nothing like fresh pumpkin pie. My best tip is to Microwave the fresh pumpkin by piercing it a few times with a serving fork or something long and sharp. place pumpkin in a plate because it can ooze. for a large pumpkin, 10 on high minutes per pound works great. If you microwave 2 smaller ones together it gets tricky with time, you will need to experiment. cook til skin is soft and impressionable. LET COOL before scooping out seeds (save 'em to roast and salt and put in candy dishes) or scooping out the meet. the pumpkin will be much easier/less messy to deal with when cooled. Second hint: cover fluting on your pie crust with file or aluminum rings throughout baking. that temp. is high, they will burn. I find that it manages to brown through the foil, but if not, remove foil last 5-7 minutes of baking. yummy! Oh, also try serving with CARMEL CINAMON ice cream (or carmel ice cream sprinkiled with cinnamon, yummy plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
This recipe makes enough filling for TWO 9" pies. I use 2/3 cup honey and 1/3 cup Lyle's Golden Syrup which makes it sublime. It's spectacular made with FRESH ginger. Really the best pumpkin pie I've ever had! I freeze leftover pureed pumpkin in 2-cup portions in ziploc bags so it's handy to use for more pies or pumpkin bread later on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
Used butternut squash (steamed for 15 minutes, then pulp just fell off the skin), then followed directions exactly. Well, did add an additional dash of pumpkin pie seasoning. This came out absolutely divine. First pumpkin pie I've ever made without canned pumpkin, and wow what a difference. Truly a spectacular end to a holiday dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
This is the recipe I'll be using from now on, for pumpkin pies. The ONLY little adjustment I made, was that I added a 1/2 cup of sugar, about an 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg, and 1/2 teaspoon more of cinnamon. I tasted the batter using the recipe given here, and it just didn't 1) have enough flavor, and 2) wasn't sweet enough w/ just the 1 cup of honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lawavediva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: San Jacinto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
My husband and I loved this recipe. It was so fresh and creamy. We had extra filling so we put another pie crust into a muffin pan (cut-up, of course) and poured the extra filling in. It was great. Mini pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
The recipe was certainly easy to follow. Looked runny, but it set well. 1 cup of honey was *really* sweet though, I will reduce it next time to 1/2 - 2/3 of a cup or add more pumpkin. I would use more spice next time. The raw batter was spicy enough, but cooked up you couldn't taste anything. Also, this is WAY TOO much batter for one pie. It's probably enough for two, but I didn't have another pie shell handy, so I simply cooked the extra up as custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
very easy to make and my family loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
Great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
This recipe is great! I added a bit more pumpkin puree than the recipe called for just to make it a little thicker. I also added a bit more cinnamon because my family loves that spice. The honey did wonders and no one found it overwhelming (I used 1 cup). I had enough filling to make two declicious pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States