Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Like others, I used 1/2 cup of honey and 1/4 cup of maple syrup, and it was just the right amount of sweetness with a hint of maple flavour. I didn't double the spices, but I wish I had; they were too subtle for my taste. This recipe was enough for two whole pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAYLAWNEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
pumpkin pie just does not get better than this. I was totally bummed because the local international store did not carry canned pumpkin, so I thought my pumpkin pie craving was going to have to be ignored - thank you for posting this recipe... I know so much better than the can now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GASOLINE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Very good and fun to make, I too recommend doubling up on the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Harrah, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I give this recipes 5 stars for its versatility. I actually live outside of the US and needed something for Thanksgiving. Here there is a fruit that is a cross between a pumpkin and a squash that I had heard could work to make a more bland pumpkin pie. With this recipe it was not bland at all. I followed the recipe exactly except, in order to keep it from getting bland, I added pumpkin pie spice. It was such a hit and I will try it now with actual pumpkins when I move back to the USA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I always make a few different types of pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving with fresh pumpkings. I tried this one because of the honey instead of sugar - I thought it would appeal to the older folks that come to dinner. I thought the taste of honey was too strong, but others there thought it was good. When I make pumpkin pie, I make it for the pumpkin and spice taste, not the sweet honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Thanx to this recipe everyone's been raving about my Thanksgiving pies! I doubled the spices & that was the only adjustment. I used the recipe from this site for the best pie crust and it was delicious! Will be making again for Christmas!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deltona, Florida, USA
Living In: Poinciana, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Finally! A recipe that doesn't use evaporated milk! A tip - if you don't want to use ground spices, simmer your whole ginger and clove or cinnamon bark in your milk for a few minutes, then you can cool it down for a few minutes in the freezer before straining into your pie mix. Five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsIrisCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
My son's first birthday happened to fall on Thanksgiving this year so I made him this pumpkin pie instead of a sugary cake. He LOVED it. I also made 3 others which I gave to family and friends and they all said that it was the best pumpkin pie they had ever had. Note that if you do not like pulp, you may not like the consistency of this pie as you could definetly taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Braunfels, Texas, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
OK - but with mine, the honey overtook any taste of pumpkin. I'd cut back on or eliminate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I was absolutely thrilled with the way this pie turned out. The filling would never have fit in one pan, though. I split it between two pans and used the Best Ever Pie Crust also from Allrecipes.com. Note: the filling seemed really thin, but thickened beautifully as it baked. I will use this as my new standard pumpkin pie. My entire family thanks you for the wonderful recipe! It is well worth the effort to use fresh baked pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie Pence

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States