Fresh Pineapple Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
this was a very good homemade cake recipe.... the only reason i'm giving it 4 stars is b/c the topping didn't turn out the way i thought..it was very oooey gooey and i thought it was supposed to be kinda crispy .... (i baked it exactly as the recipe said, i didn't lower the temp.) SO READ THIS IF YOU ARE MAKING THIS RECIPE.... WHEN YOUR CAKE IS DONE BAKING AND HAS COOLED........IF YOUR TOPPING IS KINDA RUNNY/GOOEY/NOT CRISPY ENUF FOR YOUR LIKING( you can only tell by flipping it out of the pan first) COVER A PAN IN FOIL AND PLACE CAKE ON PAN (topping up) and place cake in oven on BROIL for a few minutes (depending on how crispy you want it) the pineapple will get a little brown also, but it really helped the topping and still tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Julian, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karisma
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This cake is absolutely perfect! My only complaint is my family started cutting away at my beautiful creation before I could take a picture to post. I followed the recipe as is. I did add a little, too. After I put the brown sugar mix in I sprinkled coconut on top and then layered the pineapple and added some maraschino cherries to the design. I made two cakes and after they cooled I stacked them. SIMPLY WONDERFUL - especially the cake's texture and the way the candied sauce just melts into the cake without making it soggy. Someone said they didn't know what stiff but not dry egg whites meant. When you hit that foamy looking stage turn your mixer up and keep going for another minute or so. The egg whites will leave ripples and look shiny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
I had never made a Pineapple Upside Down Cake before this one. I was a bit worried at first because there are so many steps, but it all turned out great! I thought the batter was too runny when it went into the oven, but the cake turned out great anyway and it kept for several days in the fridge. I had zero problems with this recipe. I never figured out what "Beat the whites until stiff bu not dry" meant. The egg whites never got stiff, they did get foamy (kinda like soap foam) but never stiff or dry. Oh well. I used canned Dole Pineapple slices, 1 can for the pineapple rings (I used 5 rings) and the 3/4 cup of juice. Other substitions: I used margrine instead of butter and I used cheap-o vanilla flavoring rather than vanilla extract. This recipe rocks, a perfect Pineapple Upside Down Cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dea
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
This cake is very moist and has an excellent presentation. I just happened to have fresh pineapple in the house, but no actual juice, so I substituted orange juice, it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dea

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2002
This is the BEST recipe I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2000
This is one of the best pineapple upside down cake recipes I've tried and works well with canned pineapple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
I made this recipe exactly as it said and it was very good! No problems with too runny of a topping, as indicated by other reviewers. Pineapple Upside-Down Cake is supposed to be more dense, as opposed to light and fluffy, and this recipe delivers. The cake remains moist despite the density, just make sure you don't overcook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
Excellent cake! It came out moist, spongy, and heavy. This cake was very filling and the flavor is very unique-- I felt that it tasted similar to cheese cake with a pineapple zest but with a pound cake texture. Sounds weird, but the cake turned out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
This is my second attempt at p-u-d-cake and much better than the first attempt. I used a 9" glass pie plate and reduced the cook time by 5 minutes. A dense cake, but I think it's supposed to be, rather than light and fluffy. The crunchy gooey edges were the best. I will use this recipe if I need p-u-d cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This cake turned out wonderful. For those of you who had a dense cake, you did not beat the egg whites to medium-stiff to stiff peaks, or did not fold in the egg whites into the egg yolk and flour mixture properly. The way the egg whites are whipped and folded into the batter is the key to the cake's fluffy texture. The cake part is supposed to be the texture of a chiffon cake, something quite light and fluffy. (As this pineapple cake contains the separate foaming method.) Also, you have to get the egg yolks to a creamy or "lemony color" consistency as well. Pineapple upside down cakes are not supposed to be dense bricks everyone! Fluffy is the key to happiness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K.C

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

A dessert classic, baked just like in the olden days!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States