Fresh Pineapple Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I read alot of the reviews on this recipe,i was hesitant about trying it,in the end i wasnt pleased,i wont be keeping this one in the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
my 4yr old daughter helped me make this recipe. She loved it and it was easy to make. She kept telling her grandparents that it was healthy for them because it had fruit in it! I don't know about that but it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I made this recipe with a few changes, I made a burre noisette with the butter to add a nuttier flavor and i used a bit more vanilla extract, and I got a dense but moist and flavorful cake. it is a simple recipe and i would use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This cake turned out fantastically! I was able to use a fresh pineapple and squeeze enough juice out of the peel for the 3/4 cup. I baked it in a 10 inch cast iron pan and it made it easy to turn out onto the serving plate. I had beginner's luck with this one and used light brown sugar since that's all I had on hand and we were snowed in. Great smelling too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I used canned pineapple but otherwise followed the recipe and it was absolutely the most delicious cake I've had! Moist, flavorful and the crispy edges are great. My husband *had* to have a second piece. Will make again. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
My husband said it's the best cake I ever made!! I made exactly as directed. I bought a fresh pineapple (the already cored fresh pineapple) assuming there would be enough pineapple juice but there was only about 1/4 cup. I used canned pineapple juice to make up the difference. Baked about 28 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCMILLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Mine was too runny on the top but I substituted a lot of ingredients I didn't have (additional egg, and brown sugar) which is probably a huge reason. It was all over when I flipped it over. Hopefully chilling it will help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakesie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
the dough tastes like scone dough - mine didn't turn out much like cake but I really liked the texture. I substituted half the sugar with Steviva and next time I'll try to substitute the butter for a healthier option
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
The cake was delicious; however, it didn't look very appetizing. I baked it just as instructed but the cake was a bit flat. The topping was great, though. I recommend doubling the ingredients and using 4-5 eggs. Also, canned pineapple works just as well as fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I used this recipe to whip up a quick dessert. The only alteration I made was using canned pineapple as I didn't have a fresh one to hand. I used a 20 oz can of pineapple rings and it worked out great. Everyone loved the cake. Next time I will give it a try with fresh pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States