Fresh Pineapple Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Made it as written and would not change a thing!! Fantastic and hubby absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I loved this recipe! It was fun and easy to make, and I am not a baker! I didnt have fresh pineapple, so I used canned, and the juice from the can. Instead of using all the butter, I cut the recipe in half and used apple sauce instead. The cake came out light, and very moist! I am not much for measuring ingredients and this recipe was very forgiving. I will definitely be making this again and next time I will share it with friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I made this last night and could not have been more pleased, it was very good. I used the suggestion from others about going with crushed canned pineapple, that really worked well. Also, I used 3/4 cup of sugar instead of 1/2 cup and prepared the egg whites just before folding into the batter. I baked at 325 degrees for 40 min as one user noted and it came out perfect. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I was skeptical when it came time to separate the eggs, beating the whites and omitting a yolk, but I did it anyway. I wish I had followed my instinct, as the cake turned out with an odd, unappealing texture. If I were to use this recipe as a guide in the future, I would cream the butter with the sugar, and simply add all 3 eggs to the mix. Very disappointing cake resulting from an unnecessary step. Bummer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This is the best cake I've ever eaten. If I could give an extra star I would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I made this yesterday for a small gathering. The only change I made was to use canned pineapple and the juice from the can. Everyone loved it and had seconds so it was obviously a hit. Served it with lite Coolwhip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Yummy and simple..... Only changed two things. I used 8-inch cake pan, took about the same amount of time, just start watching it around 25mins. Then I broiled it for a bit like another reviewer suggested, it makes the topping less goo-like. :D Have Fun
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetTart<3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This cake came out perfectly! I did admittedly substitute milk for the 1/2 cup of pineapple juice that went into the cake batter as I could not get a cup of juice out of the pineapple I cut. I also finely chopped about 2 cups of pineapple and put half the pieces on the bottom of the pan with the large slices of pineapple and then sprinkled the rest on top of the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I'd never made pineapple upside down cake before so I had no idea what to expect. I used canned pineapple with the juice from it, and it was absolutely delicious. The cake was nice and moist, and I will definitely be making it again. I thought separating the eggs to beat separately would be a hassle, but the whole process was not time consuming at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meaganigans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Cork, County Cork, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I altered the recipe: 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 or less white sugar, 1/2 cup butter, canned pineapple slices, the water (A little more than 3/4 cup as desired) in my canned pineapples as the pineapple juice, and only as much pineapple it took to cover my pan (a lot less than 1 whole pineapple), 375 degrees- until done. Remember to rotate the pan every now and then to prevent burning. The cake turned out GREAT. I don't know why some people said their cake turned out dry...It's a Pineapple Upsidedown Cake!!!...Geez, it's not supposed to be moist, like your regular cake!!!....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

A dessert classic, baked just like in the olden days!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States