Fresh Pineapple Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This was my first time making p-u-d cake so I was alittle apprehensive to try. I messed up on the batter bc I didn't pay attn to saving some of the butter n pineapple juice. After redoing the batter it turned out to be a delicious cake. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This cake is amazing! The only change I had to make was that I used pineapple orange juice because that is what I had. This is so good! The whole family loved it and I could sit and eat the entire thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
My husband loves pineapple upside down cake and was begging me to make one. This recipe is great!! It takes a little time using fresh pineapple, but is well worth it. The only change I made was to use Splenda for the sugars since we have to watch our carbs. This recipe is filed away to use many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane442
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
My first time making pineapple upside down cake. Wonderful recipe! Followed the instructions exactly (but pineapple was cut into chunks, not rings) and made no substitutions. Oh, I included all 3 egg yolks b/c hate to waste anything. Turned out beautifully. Wish I'd had some ice cream to go with it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane442

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
AWESOME! Light, buttery, sweet but not TOO sweet. i followed the directions to a t and it turned out amazing. The cake is half dome and I just finished it maybe a half hour ago! Next time I may double it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Loved this recipe. Will make again and again. I did not change a thing. Thank you for a great dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
delicious! easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I just made this the other day and it turned out wonderfully. I made a gluten-free version, substituting the all-purpose flour with 1 cup brown rice flour and 1/4 cup each potato flour and tapioca flour, plus about a teaspoon of xanthan gum. Only issue I had is that I used a springform pan, which leaked, resulting in a lot of smoke from burning sugar on the cookie sheet underneath! It didn't stick to the sides at all so I'll use a regular pan in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyofHay
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This cake is absolutely amazing. Made exactly as written except used canned pineapple and maraschino cherries. The cake itself was SO delicious and moist that my daughter said she wants one for her birthday without the pineapple on top (but with the pineapple juice as written. I will use this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I loved using fresh pineapple rather than canned in this cake, and the recipe resulted in a very dense cake with a rich, buttery sauce. My only problem was that after 25 minutes at 400 degrees, the outside of the cake was charring while the inside was still raw. It solidified a bit after cooling, but was still a little doughy in the middle when it came to serving time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

A dessert classic, baked just like in the olden days!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States