Fresh Pineapple Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
AWESOME! Light, buttery, sweet but not TOO sweet. i followed the directions to a t and it turned out amazing. The cake is half dome and I just finished it maybe a half hour ago! Next time I may double it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Loved this recipe. Will make again and again. I did not change a thing. Thank you for a great dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
delicious! easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I just made this the other day and it turned out wonderfully. I made a gluten-free version, substituting the all-purpose flour with 1 cup brown rice flour and 1/4 cup each potato flour and tapioca flour, plus about a teaspoon of xanthan gum. Only issue I had is that I used a springform pan, which leaked, resulting in a lot of smoke from burning sugar on the cookie sheet underneath! It didn't stick to the sides at all so I'll use a regular pan in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyofHay
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This cake is absolutely amazing. Made exactly as written except used canned pineapple and maraschino cherries. The cake itself was SO delicious and moist that my daughter said she wants one for her birthday without the pineapple on top (but with the pineapple juice as written. I will use this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lund Hazher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I loved using fresh pineapple rather than canned in this cake, and the recipe resulted in a very dense cake with a rich, buttery sauce. My only problem was that after 25 minutes at 400 degrees, the outside of the cake was charring while the inside was still raw. It solidified a bit after cooling, but was still a little doughy in the middle when it came to serving time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Made it as written and would not change a thing!! Fantastic and hubby absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I loved this recipe! It was fun and easy to make, and I am not a baker! I didnt have fresh pineapple, so I used canned, and the juice from the can. Instead of using all the butter, I cut the recipe in half and used apple sauce instead. The cake came out light, and very moist! I am not much for measuring ingredients and this recipe was very forgiving. I will definitely be making this again and next time I will share it with friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I made this last night and could not have been more pleased, it was very good. I used the suggestion from others about going with crushed canned pineapple, that really worked well. Also, I used 3/4 cup of sugar instead of 1/2 cup and prepared the egg whites just before folding into the batter. I baked at 325 degrees for 40 min as one user noted and it came out perfect. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I was skeptical when it came time to separate the eggs, beating the whites and omitting a yolk, but I did it anyway. I wish I had followed my instinct, as the cake turned out with an odd, unappealing texture. If I were to use this recipe as a guide in the future, I would cream the butter with the sugar, and simply add all 3 eggs to the mix. Very disappointing cake resulting from an unnecessary step. Bummer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States