Fresh Pineapple Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I used this recipe, as this is my mom's favorite dessert, for her birthday a year ago. She has apparently decided that her birthday is every week, because she requests this cake constantly! Super easy to make, turns out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Too many steps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Very delicious! I served it with vanilla yogurt, just pour the vanilla yogurt on top of the slice of cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dlw123go
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
The only thing I did differently was I made 2 cakes out of this recipe. I'm not much of a baker, but this recipe was so simple. I might have over whisked my egg whites(wasn't sure about the stiff or dry), but it was fine. I was so happy about the way my cake turned out that I had to post my pic on here. I will be making this one again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dlw123go

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
The recipe was.an easy recipe to make. However the family said the top of the cake was very good but the bottom was very dry. Next time I will add pineapple pieces to the batter and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Wow what a cake. First time making a pineapple upside down cake. Substitutions: Used fresh pineapple, but a few slices werent as ripe as i'd like so I carmelized them a bit. I had no pineapple juice so I used 1 C apple juice and sauteed the carmelized pineapple in the apple juice for a little while until it reduced to 3/4c as per recipe. I also added 1tsp cinnamon to the brown sugar mixture. Unfortunately for me, my daughter didnt have a 9in pan other than a spring pan so I lost juice out the bottom. I made a reduction when the cake was out of the oven and threw it under the broiler for a few. The cake itself was a lovely texture, beautiful in color, and light in taste. A perfect cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
It was very good ! I used the whole pineapple as directed, there was a lot, so I decided to put in a 9x13 Pyrex. I think if I had used a cake pan, the pineapples would stack too many layers, wouldn't look pretty like the photo shown. Even in 9x13 pan, I stacked pineapples 2 layers. When I made the batter it was not enough to spread completely to cover the whole thing ( I even used all 3 eggs, what's the point of leaving one yolk out ?) so I spread it very thin, not covering every inch. I would have to say, after it baked, the dough did raise a little so it looked fine...But, I did not dare to turn the pan upside down, we just cut out of the pan, and it was certainly delicious, definitely more pineapples then cake. We didn't mind that. The pineapples left juice at the bottom which was really good...note :It was not thicker and caramelized like I had imagined though. The 'cake' part was more like a firm crust, which was good. Overall it was very good and refreshing, not dense and heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This cake is awesome! I used canned pineapple and followed the directions except I reduced the white sugar to 1/4 cup because the pineapples were sweetened. It looks great and tastes great! I will definitely be making this over and over again, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by BALDOR1
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Followed directions for toppings exactly (i.e., brown sugar, butter, pineapple juice, pineapple rings & maraschino cherries) but used boxed cake mix for the cake. Used Duncan Hines Golden Butter Cake Mix and used juice from pineapple rings in lieu of water, then added 1/2 tsp of Almond Extract. Cake was delicious and very moist. Will definitely make this recipe again, but will make the cake from scratch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BALDOR1

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I have made this twice now - once with fresh pineapple (using the juice from a canned pineapple) and once with canned pineapple. Both times it turned out DELICIOUS! I've not made pineapple upside down cake from scratch before so it may be that there are better recipes out there. All I can say though is that I have made this one and loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States