Fresh Pineapple Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I didn't whip the eggs as long as I should have so the cake ended up being more dense then it should have been. It was still really good. The only complaint my husband had was that the cake wasn't as sweet as he is used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This cake came out really good. This was my first time making this cake so I do not have any recipes to compare to and the way this cake turned out, neither am I interested. This recipe is definitely a keeper. It was full of flavor and now my family is begging for more. I followed the directions exactly and everything came out pefectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I knew better than to bake the cake at 400 degrees but the first time I try a recipe I like to follow the directions exactly so I can give it a fair shot. The top edges of the cake (what became the bottom edges) were pretty dark after 30 minutes. I put in a toothpick and it seemed to come out clean. When I cut into the cake at a party later, the uncooked cake batter came oozing out of the middle. I will try this recipe again but will bake at 350 degrees and omit the pineapple juice from the brown sugar/butter mixture in the bottom of the pan. I think all that liquid contributed to raw middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I made this recipe as written and thought it was great! I have never made pineapple upside down cake and was surprised with how easy this was to make. I used a 9.5" deep dish pie plate to bake it because I was afraid it would run over in a 9" cake pan. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I doubled the recipe and put it into a 14" round pan and baked for 55min at 325. The only thing I changed was I used light brouwn sugar instead of dark. I also used canned sliced pineapple in its own juice. Made for a silent auction at a High School function. It was a big hit and top seller. Beautiful looking cake. Wish I took a picture. Now I have to make one for the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
My fiance loves pineapple, but I found out that he had never had pineapple upside-down cake! I had to make it for him. After looking at a few recipes I decided to give this one a try. I'm glad I did! All I had were canned pineapples on hand, but it still turned out dense, moist and absolutely delicious. When my fiance tasted it he said.... well... what he said was inappropriate, so I'll just say he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Heavy and dense. I made this for my husbands birthday- it's his favorite. I followed the directions and it just missed the mark. I will not be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Solid recipe! Easy! Well thought out. Do NOT dry out the pineapple in paper towels. The juice will combine with the syrup to make a beautiful top when plating. You might consider dropping blueberries or blackberries if you have them, just to mix things up. Caveate: Do not walk away from your stand mixer when creating the dough. Too much mixing will make the glutens combine and make the dough chewy and bread-like and not cake-like; the way we want it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingRock

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I made this cake last night...(My 1st ever cake made from scratch) and your recipe was ON POINT!! Thank you soooo much! Here's a pic of my cake......DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I followed the recipe and I found the cake too dry. I did like the brown sugar topping with pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teddybearplus2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States