Fresh Pineapple Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by tabbrew
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I made this exactly as written...it is fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VanessaM
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This is a fantastic scratch recipe. It's not nearly as hard as it looks. The only changes I made were to use canned pineapple and add maraschino cherries for color. It was a hit for Easter. My mom was inspired to try the recipe and it came out great for her too. All you have to remember is that you'll need 4 bowls, a saucepan and your cake pan. Everything (except the topping) gets added into the dry ingredients bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Made it for my best friend's birthday as this is her favorite kind of cake. The fresh pineapple is amazing - my previous experience with pineapple upside down cake was the spongy stuff with canned pineapple and ubersweet radioactive maraschino cherries - bleeeeeech! This cake turned out delicious and amazing. Not too sweet - I used frozen dark cherries on top, very good. It was not at all dry, topping was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Have made it twice, now. The first time I followed the recipe exactly and the center was totally uncooked even though the outside was very dark, on the edge of burned. The second time I reduced the heat to 350 and baked for 45 minutes. Golden brown, just done in the center and had absorbed the brown sugar mixture almost totally. I really don't see the need to separate the eggs or omit the third yolk, though. This is supposed to be a dense, sweet cake, not angel food, so why go to the extra trouble? I think next time I'll try just creaming the sugar with the butter and mixing the whole eggs in. Very moist cake with good balance of flavors, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
My first time baking a pineapple upside down cake and it is delicious! I'm eating it right now as I'm typing this review. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by appie
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Just finished this recipe. It is delicious. I did tweak it a bit..I melted 1/4 cup butter in a oven proof skillet then added to the skillet 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1tbs pineapple juice and added 1tbs rum. Cook until just bubbly remove from heat add pineapple on top. I made the cake as directed except added 1tsp rum in place of the vanilla Pour cake mixture over the pineapple and cook as directed. Mine cooked in about 20 minutes. I used a non stick skillet. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I made this tonight for my husband and our two very opinionated foodie sons! I used the recipe as a foundation, but kicked it up a bit with cinnamon infused whisky and apple juice. The initial batter had the consistancy of cookie dough, so I added about 1/4 cup of apple juice before folding in the egg whites... which did the trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Bought some whole pineapples on sale this week, and found this recipe. I've never made Pineapple Upside Down cake before (but I have eaten it:). I made it exactly as written, and my family LOVED it! I do bake very well, and quite a bit, so standards are pretty high in this house. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by christine3
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
4 stars only because I also said a problem with it being uncooked in the middle and a ton of liquid when I flipped it. BUT...I took it to a BBQ this weekend and it was devoured in minutes. My boyfriend liked it so much I just made it again tonight. This time after I flipped it I transferred it to a pan, poured the juiced back on top (so it didn't dry out) and popped it back in the oven for about 15 more minutes. Perfect! Recipe is a definite keeper and I loved using fresh pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Seriously delicious. Wasn't heavy or dense at all. Take the time to mix those egg whites properly, and don't over mix the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States