Fresh Pineapple Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
I had a very ripe pineapple that I wanted to use and of course I didn't have any pineapple juice, except for the actual fruit. I grated a bit for the juice called for in the topping, but that was really messy. I used milk instead of pineapple juice for the cake part and added some orange zest instead of vanilla. Almost used all 3 egg yolks, but fished one out just in time. It looked great just out of the oven but when i flipped it over it was rather pale and uncooked in the middle. I put it into a skillet with the pineapple side up and baked it till it was done. It is a bit too sweet for my taste, but the cake is nice and light. Needless to say the appearance suffered a bit from all the handling. Maybe I sliced the pineapple to thick?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jdthomas32
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
Good recipe. I will be making it for an upcoming family get together for a breakfast dessert. I really like the top the cake was actually a little bit dry. I'm thinking about changing it up and putting pineapple tidbits in the batter to keep the moisture more in the cake. The top of the fresh pineapple tied in with the butter brown sugar and pineapple juice was really tasty! I just think the cake itself was not quite up to par.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
This recipe was just PERFECT!!!!!!! Adding cinnamon tasted great by adding it to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
This was wonderful! It will be my go-to recipe for pineapple upside down cake from here on. The only problem? I managed to spill half of it on my counter as I was attempting to put it on a plate. So it became pineapple upside down cake cobbler. No matter, the flavor was wonderful and my husband loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaC108

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
This was amazing - the fresh pineapple and pineapple juice along with beating the egg whites and folding in, make a superb cake. Making it again for Easter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I made this cake today, but it came out gooy. The cake was undone, just as raw as when I poured it into the pan. The brown sugar mixture ran over and started a fire in the oven. I have been baking and cooking for over 50 years, first time this has happened to me. I did use can pineapple packed in 100% pineapple juice from Del Monte. I thought this would be okay, apparently not. The kitchen note said to be sure to use canned juice. Does that mean canned juice from the juice isle and not the juice from the canned pineapple? Very disappointed. I won't be making this again, going back to my mom's recipe, that one never fails.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I followed this recipe to the letter!!!! The bottom did not bake as well as the top even though the top sprang back when touched. When I flipped it over ( making the bottom the top ) it was raw in the middle but not around the outer edges. IF ( and that is a big if ) I ever try this recipe again, I will bake for 45 min at 375 not the 30 min at 400 as instructed. VERY disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Coolidge, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I did not have Pineapple jucie so I used milk instead in the batter. MAJOR FAIL!!! dont use milk and maybe I beat the egg white too much not sure cake was very dry and not flavorful at all middle did not get done either, so I cut it out and made it look like I did it in a bunt pan. It looked good but not good. I will try again : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shaun Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This recipe turned out wonderfully. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abigail Joy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly. Then I made it into six large muffin sized cakes. Perfect and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

A dessert classic, baked just like in the olden days!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States