Fresh Pear Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Really nice; don't hesitate. I mixed the pears with the sugar, following regeland's recommendation and adding about a tablespoon or so of fresh grated ginger to the mix; it was subtle, but added a zip. It didn't really taste like apple pie, but like something a little different. And I was worried the pears would turn to mush, but they held up, sliced about 1/4" thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlantic, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Everyone loved this pie! Followed the recipe, but since I'm allergic to cinnamon, I substituted nutmeg and added 1 t. of vanilla. The pears held their form, but seemed to almost melt in the mouth when eating. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
My friend was about to throw out overly ripe pears so I requisitioned them and found this recipe and what a delight!! Totally worth the 5-star review. I followed the recipe exactly except I did as others suggested and tossed the pears in the sugar/flour mixture prior to pouring into the pie crust. I also love cinnamon so I increased it by 1/4 tsp. and added about another 1/4 of sugar (I like it sweet) and it got rave reviews from all my friends. A refreshing alternative to apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nurses-r-angels
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Gosh this was really good. It is not icky sweet. I think it is just perfect the way it is. I can't imagine it any other way. We have pear trees galore where we live and Nobody around here will pick the local trees, so I generally put up about 600 pounds of pears. So this is just a perfect pear pie for that cold winters day like today. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurses-r-angels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heidi
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I tried this recipe but did a lattice top instead. It turned out great! My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hollinhead77
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This really doesn't taste like you would think.... It was a nice spin on the traditional apple pie taste. The pears give it just a little boost in the fruit flavor. I think next time I will cut the nutmeg in half. It was a bit over powering. I also didn't have any course sugar so I sprinkled a little bit of brown sugar on the top before baking and it was fabulous!!! Also a good idea to use a deep dish. The amount of pears this recipe calls for is too much for a standard 9" pie plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollinhead77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Too much nutmeg for me. Everyone else loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Delish! And I love that it only has a TB of butter and 1/2 cup of sugar. It's sweet, but not too sweet. Make it using the French Pastry Pie Crust from this website, and you'll be happy you did. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Didn't use the lemon zest but did follow one of the reviewers advice and used a tablespoon of fresh ginger and instead of flour used 4 tablespoons of cornstarch. I didn't layer, I just mixed everything together. Before putting in the oven, I wet my pie crust with milk and sprinkled sugar on top. Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Great fall flavour! Serve it with vanilla ice-cream. As others suggested, tossing the sugar mixture with the pears makes for better distribution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States