Fresh Pear Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
I followed the recipe as written. Our neighbors gave us pears from their tree and I found this recipe to make. I took the pie over to their house and you should have seen the looks on their face. Pear pie? I think I will pass. They tried and said "it doesn't taste like pears, it tastes like apple pie. This is really good." I will definitely be making more this weekend as they gave me more pears. I will freeze and take several to work for a treat. I'm sure everyone will love it. Thank you. This is really delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
293 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
The filling is yummy - the only thing I did was to mix the sugar mixture together with the pears as others have suggested. But since I am not a baker and the thought of making the top crust look nice was terrifying, I made a crumble topping: 1/2 cup each butter and brown sugar mixed together with 1 cup flour. Pour the crumbles over the pears and bake at 350 for about an hour. I took it to a party tonight and everyone raved, even hubby who claims to not like pears. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
290 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa L

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dove Canyon, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2001
This pie was a great hit with my family. I did add a half cup of cranraisins and sliced one green apple into the pie. Also I used Spendor which is a sugar substitute that you use the same amount that the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I have made this pie at least 10 times now, since we are hooked on it. Originally came upon recipe because we have a pear tree that gave us an over abundance, more than we could give away or store. The first time I made the recipe I followed exactly as written, until I came to the lemon zest and realized I didn't have a whole lemon. I did have fresh ginger and grated some of that in. My pie was wonderful! Since then I've made a few variations of this original recipe and my winning one is, I use the lemon zest AND fresh grated ginger - at least a good heaping tablespoon. And I have changed the 3 tablespoons of flour to 4 tablespoons of corn starch, and changed the 1/2 cup of white sugar to 1/4 cup Splenda and 1/4 cup brown sugar!. Wonderful - the ginger gives it a taste that is not over powering where anyone can put their finger on what it is - but it makes it most unique. The corn starch allows the cutting of the pie to come out picture perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by regeland
Home Town: Homer Glen, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
This pie was wonderful! I forgot to dot with butter, but it was fabulous anyway. A simple recipe with a great fruity taste. I made a deep dish pie with about 8-9 cups of pears and a little extra lemon zest and it was just right. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
This pie recipe was a hit! It tasted like an apple pie, but it was not as tart. The recipe was easy to follow. The only thing I would do differently is mix the sugar mixture with the pears, since I followed the directions and sprinkled the sugar between the pear layers, it really did not blend with the juices from the pear. All in all, I will definitely make this pie again. It was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Alabama, USA
Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I was trying to figure out what in the world to do with all of the pears that came off of my grandmother's tree this year when I found this recipe, and boy am I glad that we found it. It really is quite tasty! As per other reviews, I mixed the dry ingredients with my pears before dumping them in the crust, and I used a crumb topping on the top instead of the second crust. If you're interested, my crumb topping it is 1/4 c. butter melted, 1/2 c. light brown sugar, and 3/4 c. flour. Oh, if you use a crumb topping there's no need to mix any butter in with the pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2000
A good recipe - quite tasty. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
There is nothing wrong with this recipe...I used my own family pie crust and it was great. The cinnamon is not overpowering. It took about 5 d'Anjou pears, sliced thinly. This tastes A LOT like Apple Pie, only a bit different, but use it when pears are in season. Nice and sweet - and it thickens perfectly. Going in my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2002
By far the best pear pie recipe I've tried. After finding this one, I won't be looking for another!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States