Fresh Pear Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
I followed the recipe as written. Our neighbors gave us pears from their tree and I found this recipe to make. I took the pie over to their house and you should have seen the looks on their face. Pear pie? I think I will pass. They tried and said "it doesn't taste like pears, it tastes like apple pie. This is really good." I will definitely be making more this weekend as they gave me more pears. I will freeze and take several to work for a treat. I'm sure everyone will love it. Thank you. This is really delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
285 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
The filling is yummy - the only thing I did was to mix the sugar mixture together with the pears as others have suggested. But since I am not a baker and the thought of making the top crust look nice was terrifying, I made a crumble topping: 1/2 cup each butter and brown sugar mixed together with 1 cup flour. Pour the crumbles over the pears and bake at 350 for about an hour. I took it to a party tonight and everyone raved, even hubby who claims to not like pears. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
273 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa L

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dove Canyon, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2001
This pie was a great hit with my family. I did add a half cup of cranraisins and sliced one green apple into the pie. Also I used Spendor which is a sugar substitute that you use the same amount that the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I have made this pie at least 10 times now, since we are hooked on it. Originally came upon recipe because we have a pear tree that gave us an over abundance, more than we could give away or store. The first time I made the recipe I followed exactly as written, until I came to the lemon zest and realized I didn't have a whole lemon. I did have fresh ginger and grated some of that in. My pie was wonderful! Since then I've made a few variations of this original recipe and my winning one is, I use the lemon zest AND fresh grated ginger - at least a good heaping tablespoon. And I have changed the 3 tablespoons of flour to 4 tablespoons of corn starch, and changed the 1/2 cup of white sugar to 1/4 cup Splenda and 1/4 cup brown sugar!. Wonderful - the ginger gives it a taste that is not over powering where anyone can put their finger on what it is - but it makes it most unique. The corn starch allows the cutting of the pie to come out picture perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by regeland
Home Town: Homer Glen, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
This pie was wonderful! I forgot to dot with butter, but it was fabulous anyway. A simple recipe with a great fruity taste. I made a deep dish pie with about 8-9 cups of pears and a little extra lemon zest and it was just right. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
This pie recipe was a hit! It tasted like an apple pie, but it was not as tart. The recipe was easy to follow. The only thing I would do differently is mix the sugar mixture with the pears, since I followed the directions and sprinkled the sugar between the pear layers, it really did not blend with the juices from the pear. All in all, I will definitely make this pie again. It was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Alabama, USA
Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2000
A good recipe - quite tasty. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
There is nothing wrong with this recipe...I used my own family pie crust and it was great. The cinnamon is not overpowering. It took about 5 d'Anjou pears, sliced thinly. This tastes A LOT like Apple Pie, only a bit different, but use it when pears are in season. Nice and sweet - and it thickens perfectly. Going in my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2002
By far the best pear pie recipe I've tried. After finding this one, I won't be looking for another!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2000
I served this with cinnamon ice cream and there were rave reviews for hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sj1384

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florissant, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lexington, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States