Fresh Pear Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Incredible! I may have put in a touch more lemon zest & juice than called for but it tastes great and makes for an attractive slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndyW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I had never tried pear pie before so I didn't know what to expect. This was delicious! I loved the lemon hint to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This was enjoyed by all, although I didn't find the filling to be anything life-changing. When eating the fruit, I prefer pears to apples, but in pie, I have to say I prefer apples to pears. I just like the tartness of an apple pie a little more. I filled a whole wheat flax crust (double crust) and grated some gruyere on the top and THAT was life-changing. I think without the special touch of cheese this would've been some ho-hum-pretty-good-pie-but-I-ain't-gonna-write-home-about-it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This was delicious. I have used this recipe several times using pears and then using apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gloucester, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Someone sent us a box of wonderful pears for Christmas, and we couldn't eat them fast enough. I found this recipe on the site, and decided to try it to use the pears. My husband went nuts. He said it was the best pie ever. I will definately make this again and again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thor, Iowa, USA
Living In: Pinetop, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I got to thinking to myself hey I've had lots of apple pie in my life but never had a pear pie. Nor have I ever heard of pear pie, so I googled pear pie and found this recipe. Made it and an Apple pie using the same recipe for both pies and the pear pie was gone first. Every body was suprised when they found out it was a pear pie. they want it again. I am happy with it but I am going to tweak it a bit next time. Now I used my gramma's hot pie crust recipe witch is great for fruit pies real nice and flakie but not so great for pot pies. It's a hard crust to work with and not to pretty but dang good. It just fit my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Amazing pie! Love the lemony addition to the pie. Used Anjou pears and turned out great. We sprinkled the leftover sugar mixture on the top of the pie and loved it. Definitely something to be made again. Wonderful tasting pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Delicious! I got many compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I think this pie is excellent! its super easy and tastes delicious..the only thing I do differently is mix together the flour and sugar, etc and stir it in with the pears and then dump into shell and top with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizard_c9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This was awesome. I have about 6 asian pears and was looking for a recipe. I did make the change as one person suggested to use corn starch in stead of flour which made it set up perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by souletrain

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 51-60 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States