Fresh Pear Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
1/2 Cup of sugar = WAAAAAAAAY too much. Pears are nice sweet so just a couple of tablespoons was perfect, almost too sweet even. I would've had to have thrown the whole pie out if I used 1/2 cup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
This is a great recipe, and it held together nicely once it cooled. However I did change two things: I left out the butter and the lemon, and added nutmeg, quite a bit of ground cardamom, ground cloves, a tiny bit of ginger and a minuscule dash of cinnamon. It turned out wonderfully, and the whole house smells like spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AliceM
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Yummy. Makes me wonder why pear pie isn't more common
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
My husband and son loved it. My in-laws gave us some more pears and when I asked what to make with the pears it was voted the fresh pear pie again! Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This pie was so easy to make (I used my local HEB brand prepared crust), and when I made one, EVERYONE LOVED IT!! Since I had so many pears from my tree, I made 6 more for freezing and gifts. I am hoping that they are as good in the disposable pie pans as it was baked in my glass pan, though. I'm a little worried about that. If they are, I am going to make more of them to freeze!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Wow...so good! I have a pear tree loaded and will be making more to freeze...i did use 3/4 cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Our pear tree produced an exceptional crop this year. I found this recipe and it is delicious. I did exchange the lemon juice and zest for orange in some of the pies and it is outstanding. I was able to freeze several pies for a later time. Thanks for giving this recipe. Deanna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Incredible! I may have put in a touch more lemon zest & juice than called for but it tastes great and makes for an attractive slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndyW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I had never tried pear pie before so I didn't know what to expect. This was delicious! I loved the lemon hint to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This was enjoyed by all, although I didn't find the filling to be anything life-changing. When eating the fruit, I prefer pears to apples, but in pie, I have to say I prefer apples to pears. I just like the tartness of an apple pie a little more. I filled a whole wheat flax crust (double crust) and grated some gruyere on the top and THAT was life-changing. I think without the special touch of cheese this would've been some ho-hum-pretty-good-pie-but-I-ain't-gonna-write-home-about-it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States