Fresh Pear Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
My friend was about to throw out overly ripe pears so I requisitioned them and found this recipe and what a delight!! Totally worth the 5-star review. I followed the recipe exactly except I did as others suggested and tossed the pears in the sugar/flour mixture prior to pouring into the pie crust. I also love cinnamon so I increased it by 1/4 tsp. and added about another 1/4 of sugar (I like it sweet) and it got rave reviews from all my friends. A refreshing alternative to apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nurses-r-angels
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Gosh this was really good. It is not icky sweet. I think it is just perfect the way it is. I can't imagine it any other way. We have pear trees galore where we live and Nobody around here will pick the local trees, so I generally put up about 600 pounds of pears. So this is just a perfect pear pie for that cold winters day like today. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurses-r-angels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heidi
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I tried this recipe but did a lattice top instead. It turned out great! My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hollinhead77
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This really doesn't taste like you would think.... It was a nice spin on the traditional apple pie taste. The pears give it just a little boost in the fruit flavor. I think next time I will cut the nutmeg in half. It was a bit over powering. I also didn't have any course sugar so I sprinkled a little bit of brown sugar on the top before baking and it was fabulous!!! Also a good idea to use a deep dish. The amount of pears this recipe calls for is too much for a standard 9" pie plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollinhead77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Too much nutmeg for me. Everyone else loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Delish! And I love that it only has a TB of butter and 1/2 cup of sugar. It's sweet, but not too sweet. Make it using the French Pastry Pie Crust from this website, and you'll be happy you did. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Didn't use the lemon zest but did follow one of the reviewers advice and used a tablespoon of fresh ginger and instead of flour used 4 tablespoons of cornstarch. I didn't layer, I just mixed everything together. Before putting in the oven, I wet my pie crust with milk and sprinkled sugar on top. Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Great fall flavour! Serve it with vanilla ice-cream. As others suggested, tossing the sugar mixture with the pears makes for better distribution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I honestly think this tastes better than apple pie. I had a bunch of pears from my sister-in-laws tree so decided to triple this recipe and freeze the other two batches for another day. I did not have a lemon on hand so that was omitted. I also topped with the crumble topping that another viewer listed: 1/2 C. butter (melted), 1/2 C. brown sugar mixed into butter and then 1 cup of flour. I also added into this crumble some walnuts (I didn't have pecans on hand). A great pie crust recipe on this site is "Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust" if you're looking for an easy homemade crust to accompany this. I baked at 350 for an hour. Thanks for making me look like a master baker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay McDonald

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
spot on good pie fell in love with my wife one more time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States