Fresh Pear Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Excellent - I made two because I had so many pears (from a family members tree) and it was a hit. I've made apple pies and I've learned my lesson - slice the pears very thin. Definitely serve warm! And I followed Lisa L's suggestion to use the crumble topping: 1/2 cup each butter and brown sugar mixed together with 1 cup flour. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Delicious! I brushed the top crust with some egg wash to give it a nice shiny finish. Tasted kind of like an apple pie, with a hint of pear. Pairs nicely with vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Love this as a base recipe, I swapped the white sugar for light brown, added 1 tsp of vanilla, 1/2 tsp ginger, 1/2 tsp nutmeg and just mixed everything together except the butter that I diced up and scattered on top of the filling before covering. It was yum yum! I used Pillsbury Refrigerated Pie Crusts and just brushed the top with butter then cinnamon/sugar worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Excellent as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
After buying a bag of pears from Sam's that I could not eat fast enough I decided to look online for ideas so my pears would not go to waste and I came across this recipe. I am so glad I did this pie is ridiculously wonderful and everyone is right, you CAN NOT tell that pears were used. We luv apple pie and this is a great substitute when you have too many pears on hand. I think the problem people had with theirs coming out runny is because it all depends on how ripe your pears are. The riper the pears the more "water" they have so you will have to adjust accordingly. As others, I also mixed my dry ingredients into my pears and did not layer. My pie came out great. Thank you for sharing this is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyBug06445

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Excellent result. I made it sugar-free substituting Splenda for the sugar with good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Hope Roseneau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Very yummy...tastes kinda like apple...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kwald00

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Really nice; don't hesitate. I mixed the pears with the sugar, following regeland's recommendation and adding about a tablespoon or so of fresh grated ginger to the mix; it was subtle, but added a zip. It didn't really taste like apple pie, but like something a little different. And I was worried the pears would turn to mush, but they held up, sliced about 1/4" thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlantic, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Everyone loved this pie! Followed the recipe, but since I'm allergic to cinnamon, I substituted nutmeg and added 1 t. of vanilla. The pears held their form, but seemed to almost melt in the mouth when eating. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
My friend was about to throw out overly ripe pears so I requisitioned them and found this recipe and what a delight!! Totally worth the 5-star review. I followed the recipe exactly except I did as others suggested and tossed the pears in the sugar/flour mixture prior to pouring into the pie crust. I also love cinnamon so I increased it by 1/4 tsp. and added about another 1/4 of sugar (I like it sweet) and it got rave reviews from all my friends. A refreshing alternative to apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States