Fresh Pear Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Excellent!!!! Love the light taste of lemon zest. Crust on bottom, crumble topping on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
My husband was NOT looking forward to eating this pie...he thought he got robbed out of an apple pie. Well, we were all pleasantly surprised how much it tasted like my apple pie! The texture is slightly different, but that may vary by the ripeness and variety of pears. I did not have a lemon on hand to zest, otherwise I followed the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynna_Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arcade, New York, USA
Living In: Lindale, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I have made this pie at least 10 times now, since we are hooked on it. Originally came upon recipe because we have a pear tree that gave us an over abundance, more than we could give away or store. The first time I made the recipe I followed exactly as written, until I came to the lemon zest and realized I didn't have a whole lemon. I did have fresh ginger and grated some of that in. My pie was wonderful! Since then I've made a few variations of this original recipe and my winning one is, I use the lemon zest AND fresh grated ginger - at least a good heaping tablespoon. And I have changed the 3 tablespoons of flour to 4 tablespoons of corn starch, and changed the 1/2 cup of white sugar to 1/4 cup Splenda and 1/4 cup brown sugar!. Wonderful - the ginger gives it a taste that is not over powering where anyone can put their finger on what it is - but it makes it most unique. The corn starch allows the cutting of the pie to come out picture perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by regeland
Home Town: Homer Glen, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This pie is delicious. I used only the bottom shell and it was good. I added a touch of vanilla and brown sugar on top of the pie also. It is so good I can hardly believe it!! I used the pears from our tree and the pears were not hard so that helped too. This pie is truly fit to serve a king!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
this was the first pie i ever made, and it was DELICIOUS !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Great recipe. I followed it as posted and it came out perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
This pie is amazing! If I had to pick a pie for a beginning baker, this would be it. It was absolutely delicious and it set perfectly. I made the recipe exactly as listed and I know I will be making this again and again. Bring on the ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRIDAGIRL_36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This is a great recipe! Note you should preheat your oven, not stated in directions. This is very apple pie like, with a slight pear taste. The sauce is cinnamony syrupy but not too sweet. The recipe is simple & straight forward. Those lucky enough to taste this delish pie will think you are a serious baker & think you have slaved away over this pie, when it is really easy. You can't mess it up! I made my own pie crust as follows: 2 cups All-Purpose Flour 1 tsp. salt 2/3 cup shortening 5-6 tablespoons ice cold water Whisk or sift together flour and salt until well mixed. Rub shortening into flour with fingertips or cut in using two knives or a pastry blender until mixture has lumps the size of small peas. Fill a small glass with ice and water. Using a tablespoon measure, spoon out 1 tablespoon of ice water at a time, stirring quickly into the flour mixture, using only enough water (5 or 6 tablespoons) for the pastry to come together (mixture will be crumbly). Divide into two portions, with the larger half being for the bottom of the pie crust. Shape each portion into a 1/2" thick disk shape. Smooth the edges. Wrap in plastic wrap and rest for 20 minutes. Roll out on a lightly floured work surface to a size 1 1/2 inches larger than the pie pan. Fit into pan loosely. Bake according to directions given in the pie recipe being used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by victoria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
The only reason I'm giving it 5 stars is that I can't give it more! This is absolutely the best pie I've ever eaten! It's light and full of flavor and not really that fattening. I just wish my pear trees produced all year long!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
so good and so easy! i went with a suggestion of coating the pear slices with the sugar mixture instead of sprinkling. looking forward to making in the fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States