Fresh Pear Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
One of the most delicious pies I've ever made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Great recipe. Tasted a lot like apple pie. I followed the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
OMG! This is amazing! I mixed 5 peeled slices pears with everything, and used a pre-made pie crust. I had enough to make a lattice crust too... I didn't dot with butter or use any lemon juice, both are totally un-necessary and the lemon zest (I did just about the whole-medium sized-lemon) gives it just the perfect amount of lemon. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Very good pie and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miguel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Delicious. The 2nd time I made this I forgot to adjust the rack height to the lowest position and the bottom of the pie was wet and soggy. I won't make this mistake again and I'll also put some of the sugar/flour mix on the bottom of the pie before adding any pears. Guests still really enjoyed it though. Nice change of pace from your standard fruit pie options.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This was such a simple recipe and was the most delicious pie I have ever had!! I can not wait to make it again!! If I could give it 10 stars I would!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I bought a case of pears at Sams Club that were mushy. I just thought what the heck am I going to do with all these pears? I made this pie for my skeptical-apple-pie-loving fiance. He loved it! I loved it. The sweet soft pear flavor mixed beautifully with the hint of tart lemon. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I used Bartlett pears, a little under ripe; I also used dried lemon peel instead of fresh. Relative to the amount of crust, I would say there wasn't enough filling. However, the filling was very good - it really is a lot like apple pie, and unless you warned people, I don't think they'd figure out it was pear. My crust on top didn't brown though I left it in for 45 minutes (but I don't know if my oven has an accurate temp).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Next time I will reduce the amount of flour, otherwise a relatively good first effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I was pretty dubious of pear pie in general, but I had some old bartlett pears sitting around that needed to be used. Absolutely delicious! Somewhat like apple pie, not too sweet (as I was afraid would be the case with bartletts), will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States