Fresh Pear Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This was such a simple recipe and was the most delicious pie I have ever had!! I can not wait to make it again!! If I could give it 10 stars I would!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I bought a case of pears at Sams Club that were mushy. I just thought what the heck am I going to do with all these pears? I made this pie for my skeptical-apple-pie-loving fiance. He loved it! I loved it. The sweet soft pear flavor mixed beautifully with the hint of tart lemon. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I used Bartlett pears, a little under ripe; I also used dried lemon peel instead of fresh. Relative to the amount of crust, I would say there wasn't enough filling. However, the filling was very good - it really is a lot like apple pie, and unless you warned people, I don't think they'd figure out it was pear. My crust on top didn't brown though I left it in for 45 minutes (but I don't know if my oven has an accurate temp).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Next time I will reduce the amount of flour, otherwise a relatively good first effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I was pretty dubious of pear pie in general, but I had some old bartlett pears sitting around that needed to be used. Absolutely delicious! Somewhat like apple pie, not too sweet (as I was afraid would be the case with bartletts), will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Excellent!!!! Love the light taste of lemon zest. Crust on bottom, crumble topping on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
My husband was NOT looking forward to eating this pie...he thought he got robbed out of an apple pie. Well, we were all pleasantly surprised how much it tasted like my apple pie! The texture is slightly different, but that may vary by the ripeness and variety of pears. I did not have a lemon on hand to zest, otherwise I followed the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynna_Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arcade, New York, USA
Living In: Lindale, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I have made this pie at least 10 times now, since we are hooked on it. Originally came upon recipe because we have a pear tree that gave us an over abundance, more than we could give away or store. The first time I made the recipe I followed exactly as written, until I came to the lemon zest and realized I didn't have a whole lemon. I did have fresh ginger and grated some of that in. My pie was wonderful! Since then I've made a few variations of this original recipe and my winning one is, I use the lemon zest AND fresh grated ginger - at least a good heaping tablespoon. And I have changed the 3 tablespoons of flour to 4 tablespoons of corn starch, and changed the 1/2 cup of white sugar to 1/4 cup Splenda and 1/4 cup brown sugar!. Wonderful - the ginger gives it a taste that is not over powering where anyone can put their finger on what it is - but it makes it most unique. The corn starch allows the cutting of the pie to come out picture perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by regeland
Home Town: Homer Glen, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This pie is delicious. I used only the bottom shell and it was good. I added a touch of vanilla and brown sugar on top of the pie also. It is so good I can hardly believe it!! I used the pears from our tree and the pears were not hard so that helped too. This pie is truly fit to serve a king!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
this was the first pie i ever made, and it was DELICIOUS !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Fresh Rhubarb Pie

This old-fashioned rhubarb pie is juicy, tart, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States