Fresh Pear Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This was wonderful, we made it twice in 1 week, found that we needed to increase total baking time to 45 min at 350, otherwise it was too soggy. We mixed all the ingredients first in a big bowl with the pears, that way it was evenly distributed, I think I will try some golden raisins or cranberries for my next pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Super good - I just added it all together and gently mixed and put in my homemade crust - I also topped with 1/2 cup brown sugar - 1/2 cup oats - 1/2 cup flour and walnuts with 1/2 stick butter - crumble on top - WOW - Blue ribbon GOOD~!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeavenBound

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This pie was very tasty and the pears held up surprisungly well. Not nearly as textured as an apple pie but all the flavor of an apple pie but with pears! Mine came out extra watery so after the first cut, I drained some of the soupy water and it's quite lovely. The only change I would make would be to toss the sugar/flour mixture with the pears before layering in pie crust as the sugar/flour mixture was not evenly coating the pears. Delicious pie - I would make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I didn't have any lemon zest, but it was still the best pie I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I made this pie because my little guy is allergic to apples. After taking it to a picnic and only getting one slice, I made another the next day. It didn't last long! My mom, who doesn't even like pears, has decided that I can just bring this pie to Thanksgiving instead of having apple. It tastes just the same. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Ok, nothing spectacular. Tastes a lot like apple pie but with a pear flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I was trying to figure out what in the world to do with all of the pears that came off of my grandmother's tree this year when I found this recipe, and boy am I glad that we found it. It really is quite tasty! As per other reviews, I mixed the dry ingredients with my pears before dumping them in the crust, and I used a crumb topping on the top instead of the second crust. If you're interested, my crumb topping it is 1/4 c. butter melted, 1/2 c. light brown sugar, and 3/4 c. flour. Oh, if you use a crumb topping there's no need to mix any butter in with the pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Love Pear Pie better than apple always have....I hadn't been able to find my recipe! This is it...and IT ROCKS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I'm not too big of a pear lover, but this recipe gives it an almost apple pie flavor. My family and I loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
It was ok. But thats all. Kind of dry and not enough seasoning. Not sweet enough for pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States