Fresh Pear Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
After buying a bag of pears from Sam's that I could not eat fast enough I decided to look online for ideas so my pears would not go to waste and I came across this recipe. I am so glad I did this pie is ridiculously wonderful and everyone is right, you CAN NOT tell that pears were used. We luv apple pie and this is a great substitute when you have too many pears on hand. I think the problem people had with theirs coming out runny is because it all depends on how ripe your pears are. The riper the pears the more "water" they have so you will have to adjust accordingly. As others, I also mixed my dry ingredients into my pears and did not layer. My pie came out great. Thank you for sharing this is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyBug06445

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Excellent result. I made it sugar-free substituting Splenda for the sugar with good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Hope Roseneau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Very yummy...tastes kinda like apple...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kwald00

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Really nice; don't hesitate. I mixed the pears with the sugar, following regeland's recommendation and adding about a tablespoon or so of fresh grated ginger to the mix; it was subtle, but added a zip. It didn't really taste like apple pie, but like something a little different. And I was worried the pears would turn to mush, but they held up, sliced about 1/4" thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlantic, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Everyone loved this pie! Followed the recipe, but since I'm allergic to cinnamon, I substituted nutmeg and added 1 t. of vanilla. The pears held their form, but seemed to almost melt in the mouth when eating. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
My friend was about to throw out overly ripe pears so I requisitioned them and found this recipe and what a delight!! Totally worth the 5-star review. I followed the recipe exactly except I did as others suggested and tossed the pears in the sugar/flour mixture prior to pouring into the pie crust. I also love cinnamon so I increased it by 1/4 tsp. and added about another 1/4 of sugar (I like it sweet) and it got rave reviews from all my friends. A refreshing alternative to apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nurses-r-angels
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Gosh this was really good. It is not icky sweet. I think it is just perfect the way it is. I can't imagine it any other way. We have pear trees galore where we live and Nobody around here will pick the local trees, so I generally put up about 600 pounds of pears. So this is just a perfect pear pie for that cold winters day like today. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurses-r-angels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heidi
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I tried this recipe but did a lattice top instead. It turned out great! My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hollinhead77
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This really doesn't taste like you would think.... It was a nice spin on the traditional apple pie taste. The pears give it just a little boost in the fruit flavor. I think next time I will cut the nutmeg in half. It was a bit over powering. I also didn't have any course sugar so I sprinkled a little bit of brown sugar on the top before baking and it was fabulous!!! Also a good idea to use a deep dish. The amount of pears this recipe calls for is too much for a standard 9" pie plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollinhead77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Too much nutmeg for me. Everyone else loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Fresh Rhubarb Pie

This old-fashioned rhubarb pie is juicy, tart, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States